Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-18-2009, 07:50 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 50
Rewards Points: 25
Default

outlet by panel


I noticed in my basement that there is an outlet attached to the service panel and it has its own 20 amp breaker. Does anybody know what this outlet is for? Is this for future use or something into which a new line/circuit can be tapped?

kupalino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 07:55 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

outlet by panel


An outlet is required for service of any equipment in the basement - HVAC etc
Also at least one outlet is needed in a basement as I understand
I have other outlets in the basement off the outlet by the panel/heating equipment

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 07:56 PM   #3
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

outlet by panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by kupalino View Post
I noticed in my basement that there is an outlet attached to the service panel and it has its own 20 amp breaker. Does anybody know what this outlet is for? Is this for future use or something into which a new line/circuit can be tapped?
Alot of times we put a gfci there for sprinkler system to plug into.Could just be there to be thereAre there other outlets in garage?I see scuba posted before i could about the service of equip.

Last edited by 300zx; 11-18-2009 at 07:58 PM.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 08:19 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 50
Rewards Points: 25
Default

outlet by panel


there is an outlet in the garage and it has its own breaker.

I'm finishing my basement and I think I'll use this to power the outlets I'm adding. There is a separate 15 amp. breaker for the basement lights and I'll use it just for that.
kupalino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 08:35 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Thumbs up

outlet by panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by 300zx View Post
Alot of times we put a gfci there for sprinkler system to plug into.Could just be there to be thereAre there other outlets in garage?I see scuba posted before i could about the service of equip.
A dedicated outlet near HVAC units and in boiler rooms is a requirement by the NEC. But this is slightly different. It probably is there for convenience.

Last edited by spark plug; 11-18-2009 at 08:37 PM. Reason: Missing word. ("There").
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 08:41 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

outlet by panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
A dedicated outlet near HVAC units and in boiler rooms is a requirement by the NEC. But this is slightly different. It probably is there for convenience.
210.63 states an outlet must be present, but not a dedicated circuit ??
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 08:43 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

outlet by panel


Most builders place an outlet by the panel for use by the trades during construction.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 08:50 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Thumbs up

outlet by panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
210.63 states an outlet must be present, but not a dedicated circuit ??
Thank you for putting the record straight. I knew that but I (like many other people) am sometimes guilty of Hyperbole. What I really meant to say was that the outlet at the panel (in the case of this OP) was NOT dedicated (and by itself) for any particular mandatory purpose but for convenience. Therefore, it could be tapped into.
p.s: The phrase that I (think I) made up "Eliminate confusion Through Education" applies to me;
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 08:52 PM   #9
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

outlet by panel


Could be for a washing machine, if the panel is in an area that looks like it could be a laundry room. I could also see it being for equipment such as a DSL modem or something like that, if the phone/cable comes in with the electrical.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 08:56 PM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,271
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

outlet by panel


I have mine, so that I can connect the networking equipment & server, since the panel is on the same wall, and slightly above it. It also comes in handy when working at the workbench, and needing to charge the battery pack for the DeWalt drill.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 09:01 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

outlet by panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
Thank you for putting the record straight. I knew that but I (like many other people) am sometimes guilty of Hyperbole. What I really meant to say was that the outlet at the panel (in the case of this OP) was NOT dedicated (and by itself) for any particular mandatory purpose but for convenience. Therefore, it could be tapped into.
p.s: The phrase that I (think I) made up "Eliminate confusion Through Education" applies to me;
OK, I just wanted to make sure there wasn't another part of the code that said one was needed

My circuit does not have much on it....as long as it isn't a hot week in the summer (12k AC), OR the month of December -Christmas display
The last outlet is an outside outlet in the side yard

I actually need to add another outlet for my Network stuff
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 09:32 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Lightbulb

outlet by panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
OK, I just wanted to make sure there wasn't another part of the code that said one was needed

My circuit does not have much on it....as long as it isn't a hot week in the summer (12k AC), OR the month of December -Christmas display
The last outlet is an outside outlet in the side yard

I actually need to add another outlet for my Network stuff
Then you'll have 21 outlets...! BTW. I can't wait to see your Christmas display. Hope you'll post.
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 09:59 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

outlet by panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
Then you'll have 21 outlets...! BTW. I can't wait to see your Christmas display. Hope you'll post.
Actually that one is already counted in the 20
It's one reason I extended the circuit - AC in the summer, outside outlet in the winter

Yup, I'll be posting pics once I'm setup

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
100 -> 200 amp panel upgrade questions philipjcaputo Electrical 1 10-30-2009 03:35 AM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.