Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-06-2012, 03:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Outlet not working


I was doing some work on my rental property and noticed one of the electrical outlets is not working. Tested it and it had no power. I pulled the outlet out and hooked up to it was 2 neutral wires on one side and 1 hot wire on the other although the hot wire had no power. Also going through the box was 2 hot wires pigtailed together. These had power.

When I put the tester to the 2 hot wires pigtailed together and the neutral side of the outlet it lit up. So I connected these 2 hot wires that were pigtailed together to the outlet. When I tested the outlet it read open ground. Any ideas how to fix this? I don't understand why it was wired like this. It is older wiring were the outlets don't have an uninsulated ground.

jmann118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 03:49 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,072
Rewards Points: 2,938
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Outlet not working


Find the wall switch that controls the third hot wire.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 04:39 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outlet not working


thanks. I'm an idiot.
jmann118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 07:58 PM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmann118 View Post
thanks. I'm an idiot.
Dont take it too hard....I'm sure you aren't the only one.......
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 07:59 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,342
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Outlet not working


At least you didn't pay an electrician to come out because your dishwasher isn't working only to find out that the switch on the counter (you don't know what it does) is turned off.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 08:47 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outlet not working


hahahaha I guess we all have our moments

jmann118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ground, open ground receptacle, outlet, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outlet stopped working repeatedly Mebbid Electrical 3 04-25-2011 09:06 AM
Outlet quit working? stevegilmo2004 Electrical 2 03-19-2011 11:22 PM
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 04:36 PM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 09:38 PM
Outlet not working, reading "open ground" syren Electrical 3 04-19-2010 05:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.