Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2009, 09:42 AM   #16
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet location for washing machine


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
No, receptacle WAS accurate. I guess "receptacle & circuit" would have been most accurate.



210.52 Dwelling Unit Receptacle Outlets.
(F) Laundry Areas.
In dwelling units, at least one receptacle outlet shall be installed for the laundry.



And yes, the required receptacle must be on a 20A "laundry" circuit, which is 210.11(C)(2).

(2) Laundry Branch Circuits. In addition to the number of branch circuits required by other parts of this section, at least one additional 20-ampere branch circuit shall be provided to supply the laundry receptacle outlet(s) required by 210.52(F). This circuit shall have no other outlets.

.

petey, you know they are going to put a 15 amp recep there though. I don't ever remember seeing a residential washer with a 20 amp plug on it.

So, I would go with:

20 amp circuit with an appropriate receptacle.


btw: I think we need a "beating a dead horse" emoticon.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 11:31 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Thumbs up

Outlet location for washing machine


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
.

petey, you know they are going to put a 15 amp recep there though. I don't ever remember seeing a residential washer with a 20 amp plug on it.

So, I would go with:

20 amp circuit with an appropriate receptacle.


btw: I think we need a "beating a dead horse" emoticon.
I can picture that, but it won't be a pretty sight. (A Cowboy sitting on a tilting horse, beating it to go faster...) (No matter what) Don't Drink and Drive, Ever!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 11:32 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet location for washing machine


When I moved in there was a "laundry" circuit - 20a
Washing machine & sump pump that I could see (both new)
We added a dehumidifier (rarely used), 11 cu ft freezer & a sm dorm fridge to the other side of the room
Yeah...they were all on the same circuit...wife eventually kicked off the breaker...actually the GFCI now that I think of it....
I added a dedicated circuit for the freezer & sm fridge (both new)

Now I'm wondering why the GFCI kicked out instead of the breaker
I did replace the sump pump = possibly the old one caused the tripping


Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 12:18 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Thumbs up

Outlet location for washing machine


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
When I moved in there was a "laundry" circuit - 20a
Washing machine & sump pump that I could see (both new)
We added a dehumidifier (rarely used), 11 cu ft freezer & a sm dorm fridge to the other side of the room
Yeah...they were all on the same circuit...wife eventually kicked off the breaker...actually the GFCI now that I think of it....
I added a dedicated circuit for the freezer & sm fridge (both new)

Now I'm wondering why the GFCI kicked out instead of the breaker
I did replace the sump pump = possibly the old one caused the tripping


It's hilarious. Thanx!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 04:15 PM   #20
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet location for washing machine


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I added a dedicated circuit for the freezer & sm fridge (both new)

Now I'm wondering why the GFCI kicked out instead of the breaker
I did replace the sump pump = possibly the old one caused the tripping
a breaker trips on overload. A GFCI trips on unbalanced current flow between the hot and neutral conductors (at least with a 120 volt circuit). If there was leakage current exceeding the 3 mA a GFCI is set for, you could trip a GFCI and not a breaker. Motors do have that problem sometimes, some types of motors more than others.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 04:28 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet location for washing machine


Yeah - I'm thinking it was the old sump pump motor
It's funny (not) that it never occured to me at the time
I did replace trhe sump around the same time I ran the new circuit
As far as I know it has never tripped since
But the wife knows where the GFCI is located, so I'm going to need to check with her to make sure she hasn't had to reset it

Dorm fridge is no longer in use
But no way I'm moving the sump pump to the freezer circuit
Since the garage went in & new drainage the sump has not gone on in over a year now
I did test it - still working
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 05:06 PM   #22
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,860
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Outlet location for washing machine


Not to beat the dead horse, but a recepticle outlet can be a duplex or a single and mean the same thing.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 07:13 PM   #23
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet location for washing machine


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Not to beat the dead horse, but a recepticle outlet can be a duplex or a single and mean the same thing.
Quote:
posted by nap
20 amp circuit with an appropriate receptacle.
got it covered jb

as I stated previously, most of the inspectors around here generally require the washing recep to be a single but some of the Nazis..I mean inspectors allow a duplex if one half is made non-functional.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 07:23 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet location for washing machine


I can't see how they could stretch to require a dedicated single receptacle
What if you have a washing machine & gas dryer ?
Dryer requires an outlet to plug into
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 07:33 PM   #25
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Outlet location for washing machine


To require a single receptacle for the "laundry" circuit is a gross misinterpretation of the code.
You can have twenty duplex receptacles on the one "laundry" circuit if you want.
210.52(F) & 210.11(C)(2) specifically allow more than one "receptacle outlet".


For the record, I did not say that a 20A receptacle was required. Just that a receptacle and 20A circuit was required.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 09:30 PM   #26
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet location for washing machine


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
To require a single receptacle for the "laundry" circuit is a gross misinterpretation of the code.
You can have twenty duplex receptacles on the one "laundry" circuit if you want.
210.52(F) & 210.11(C)(2) specifically allow more than one "receptacle outlet".


For the record, I did not say that a 20A receptacle was required. Just that a receptacle and 20A circuit was required.
210.11(C)(2) states that no other receps shall be on the laundry branch circuits and 210.8(A)(5) exception 2 to (5) allows that recep specifically for the washer to not be gfci if the laundry room is in the basement.. the single or one duplex was not because of the dedicated branch circuit limitation but to avoid the need for a GFCI. That is why the single recep but you can also have a duplex IF something is plugged into it that falls under the same exception.



. Sorry about the confusion. It was straight in my head. I thought you guys could read minds
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 09:33 PM   #27
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Outlet location for washing machine


Ahhh...that makes sense then.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 09:50 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet location for washing machine


Avoiding the GFCI is due to false trips?
Just wondering if the washer has caused ours to false trip when there was already a heavy load on the line
I have verything in our basement GFCI protected with 2 exceptions:
Light in the utility room has a outlet built in
Outlet in the utility room w/FIOS gear & router taking both outlets

Wife says the GFCI has not kicked off since I ran the dedicated circuit for the freezer & sm fridge
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 10:29 PM   #29
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet location for washing machine


Quote:
=Scuba_Dave;359632]Avoiding the GFCI is due to false trips?
yes.

Quote:
Just wondering if the washer has caused ours to false trip when there was already a heavy load on the line
the load on the line shouldn't make any diff. It really is a comparison between the hot and neutral conductors. It has nothing to do with load.


Quote:
I have verything in our basement GFCI protected with 2 exceptions:
Light in the utility room has a outlet built in
Outlet in the utility room w/FIOS gear & router taking both outlets
if those are in finished areas of the basement, you are fine. If they are in unfinished areas, it sounds like they are improper.



Quote:
Wife says the GFCI has not kicked off since I ran the dedicated circuit for the freezer & sm fridge
and I would never run a fridge or freezer from a GFCI. to much chance of spoiled food and you have the exception to not have to use one anyway.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 10:49 AM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outlet location for washing machine


I have a related question. I am doing the same in our laundry room . - Is the any requirement with respect to the plug height and the water height, i.e. does it matter if the plug is below the water connections or not?

highflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage outlet location redrumliny Electrical 7 09-05-2009 08:53 AM
Wahing Machine Outlet joedadog Electrical 21 01-17-2009 01:22 PM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 09:05 PM
New coaxial outlet location shimkc Home Theater 1 01-03-2008 09:55 PM
Outlet for pitching machine outdoors NREMTP Electrical 11 06-28-2006 06:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.