Outlet On A Light Circuit In The Attic? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2012, 08:14 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 250
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Outlet on a light circuit in the attic?


My attic has a switched/capped line that (I think) used to power an attic fan. Right now it's sitting unused, the light switch is down in the living area.

Was going to do a bit of work up there, was planning on adding a light or two. Am I able to add an outlet on the same circuit as well? I don't care if it's not powered all the time since whenever I'd need it on up there, I'd have the lights (and the circuit) on anyways.

If that's ok, is there any sort of standard as to how close an outlet and a light can be?

Thanks for any comments

Advertisement

burnt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 08:32 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 32,749
Rewards Points: 10,624
Default


First you have to find out if there's still power going to that wire when the switch is on.
There is no standard as to how close they can be, just use commom since.

Advertisement

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 08:32 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 6,596
Rewards Points: 588
Default


Not a problem in the US, but I hear you guys up north are pretty strict about 12 things on a circuit.
__________________
"The problem isn't that Hillary Clinton lies. We all know she lies. The problem is that her supporters don't seem to care"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
plummen (03-03-2012)
Old 03-03-2012, 08:53 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 11,379
Rewards Points: 9,550
Blog Entries: 11
Default


In Canada there is a limit of 12 devices on a circuit. There is no restriction on how close a receptacle can be to a light.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 09:13 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 250
Rewards Points: 152
Default


Great, thanks for the help.
burnt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 07:58 AM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 11,379
Rewards Points: 9,550
Blog Entries: 11
Default


I should have added that lights must be on a 15 amp circuit. So if the fan circuit happens to be a 20 amp circuit you can not add lights to it.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 09:05 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 250
Rewards Points: 152
Default


I'll have to flip the breakers and see which circuit it's on. Thanks for the tip.
burnt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 02:15 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 250
Rewards Points: 152
Default


Went into the attic trying to find out which circuit it's on, no luck yet.

The wire is 14/2 though. Does that indicate a 15A circuit?
burnt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 04:01 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 11,379
Rewards Points: 9,550
Blog Entries: 11
Default


It should be a 15 amp circuit if the cable is #14.

Advertisement

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit Breaker Tripping when I turn on kitchen light fixture hiker23 Electrical 2 02-04-2012 02:30 PM
Stairway light powered from GFCI circuit? jeh179 Electrical 10 03-23-2011 08:57 AM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 08:38 PM
Attic fan and skylights on same circuit ok? shadango Electrical 7 06-09-2008 02:50 PM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 09:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1