Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2012, 08:14 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 248
Share |
Default

Outlet on a light circuit in the attic?


My attic has a switched/capped line that (I think) used to power an attic fan. Right now it's sitting unused, the light switch is down in the living area.

Was going to do a bit of work up there, was planning on adding a light or two. Am I able to add an outlet on the same circuit as well? I don't care if it's not powered all the time since whenever I'd need it on up there, I'd have the lights (and the circuit) on anyways.

If that's ok, is there any sort of standard as to how close an outlet and a light can be?

Thanks for any comments

burnt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 08:32 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,600
Default

Outlet on a light circuit in the attic?


First you have to find out if there's still power going to that wire when the switch is on.
There is no standard as to how close they can be, just use commom since.

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 08:32 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,636
Default

Outlet on a light circuit in the attic?


Not a problem in the US, but I hear you guys up north are pretty strict about 12 things on a circuit.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
plummen (03-03-2012)
Old 03-03-2012, 08:53 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,349
Default

Outlet on a light circuit in the attic?


In Canada there is a limit of 12 devices on a circuit. There is no restriction on how close a receptacle can be to a light.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 09:13 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 248
Default

Outlet on a light circuit in the attic?


Great, thanks for the help.
burnt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 07:58 AM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,349
Default

Outlet on a light circuit in the attic?


I should have added that lights must be on a 15 amp circuit. So if the fan circuit happens to be a 20 amp circuit you can not add lights to it.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 09:05 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 248
Default

Outlet on a light circuit in the attic?


I'll have to flip the breakers and see which circuit it's on. Thanks for the tip.
burnt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 02:15 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 248
Default

Outlet on a light circuit in the attic?


Went into the attic trying to find out which circuit it's on, no luck yet.

The wire is 14/2 though. Does that indicate a 15A circuit?
burnt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 04:01 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,349
Default

Outlet on a light circuit in the attic?


It should be a 15 amp circuit if the cable is #14.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit Breaker Tripping when I turn on kitchen light fixture hiker23 Electrical 2 02-04-2012 02:30 PM
Stairway light powered from GFCI circuit? jeh179 Electrical 10 03-23-2011 08:57 AM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 08:38 PM
Attic fan and skylights on same circuit ok? shadango Electrical 7 06-09-2008 02:50 PM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 09:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.