Outlet Install In Cabinet? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2008, 04:35 PM   #1
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Outlet install in Cabinet?


Is it ok - code wise, to install an outlet inside a cabinet? Is there anything special I need to be aware of?

For example, putting an outlet in a permanently installed cabinet that a computer sits in. (when I say in, I mean, in the wall cutting through the side / or back of the cabinet - not a surface mount) Or putting an outlet inside a build in cabinet in the bathroom for an electric tooth brush charger.

Thanks
Jamie

Advertisement

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 04:49 PM   #2
What can I find here?
 
Winchester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Outlet install in Cabinet?


Though I'm not a contractor, I don't see a problem with that. You see it with microhoods all the time installed in the cabinet just above.

Advertisement

Winchester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 05:15 PM   #3
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet install in Cabinet?


our inspector ok'd one in my cabinet, though the cabinets will be moved next year.

DM
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 07:30 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Outlet install in Cabinet?


This is done for OTR microwaves in almost every new home built these days.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 12:37 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet install in Cabinet?


Sure, you can definately do it.

A receptacle inside a cabinet will not "count" toward the required receptacles for the counter space in a kitchen or bath, or in a room of any other sort.

In a bathroom, the receptacle must be GFCI protected...No exceptions.

Here's one I did in my bathroom, in addition to the two wall receptacles serving the two sinks. It is for plugging in my electric shaver without cluttering up the countertop. The picture was taken before the cabinet door was installed. Nice feature!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Outlet install in Cabinet?-img_0775.jpg  
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 02:35 AM   #6
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Outlet install in Cabinet?


Thanks everyone for the information.

I didn't even think of the microwave outlet (which I happen to have one of that I am going to replace as part of my kitchen remodel).



I'm looking forward to freeing up some counter space in the bathroom by moving the chargers to the cabinet.

Thanks again

Jamie

Advertisement

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
how to move elec outlet in oven cabinet noodle Electrical 1 09-27-2008 08:40 AM
Install a dishwasher in an existing kitchen cabinet shapeshifter Remodeling 9 03-16-2008 02:05 PM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 10:05 PM
outlet in bathroom cabinet OK? matty Electrical 5 08-02-2007 10:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts