Outlet Help - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2011, 04:25 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

outlet help


Today i was attempting to getting an outlet out of wall because it was too far in and i wasn't able to plug things into it. and i took off the cover plate and unscrewed the outlet thinking it would pull itself out. but instead it sparked and tripped the circuit. it fried the outlet and i had to disconnect it. I know i should have shut off the power first but i have 2 questions.

what can I use to take the outlet farther out of the wall so i can plug things into it? Is there anyway?

What would happen if i used the fried outlet again?


I'm sorry if i sound like an idiot asking dumb questions but i am not a professional

Advertisement

jmans8666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 04:35 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,224
Rewards Points: 2,358
Default

outlet help


Why is the receptacle box set so deep? Post a picture./ You can get box extenders to bring the box out flush with the wall surface.

If you try to reuse a "fried" receptacle, it gets "refried". Toss it and get new.

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 04:42 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

outlet help


The Box is set so deep because its just an old metal box original to the house and its very loose and thats why it eventually got pushed back so far in the wall. should i just buy a remodel box?
jmans8666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 05:20 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,224
Rewards Points: 2,358
Default

outlet help


If you can get the box out to the wall surface level, drill 2 holes thru the side of the box and secure with sheet metal screws. If after securing it is still too deep, get a plastic box extender to get it to flush. Install a new receptacle.

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
jmans8666 (04-18-2011)
Old 04-18-2011, 05:50 PM   #5
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

outlet help


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
If you try to reuse a "fried" receptacle, it gets "refried".
Thanks
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switched Outlet Issue mjm Electrical 11 01-23-2011 08:41 AM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 06:13 PM
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 04:36 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 09:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts