Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-13-2009, 06:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outlet height in garages


Is there a specific height that electrical outlets have to be from the floor of garages/carports? I know they have to be GFCI but not sure about the height. Seems to me that I read somewhere 36" but that seems like a bit much.

steve37887 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 08:36 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Outlet height in garages


You can install them wherever you like.

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 08:40 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,876
Rewards Points: 2,106
Default

Outlet height in garages


There is no code regarding this, but 48" seems to be a common height.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 08:43 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Outlet height in garages


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
There is no code regarding this, but 48" seems to be a common height.
I put them at switch height myself...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 08:46 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet height in garages


It's easier to plug & unplug stuff when they are higher up
For me 36" is about a min
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 09:00 PM   #6
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Outlet height in garages


I set them at 54" in garages so that ubiquitous piece of plywood leaning against the wall doesn't hide them.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 10:50 PM   #7
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,625
Rewards Points: 1,044
Default

Outlet height in garages


I'm not absolutely certain, but I believe that a garage that has the ability to store motor vehicles is a classified (hazardous) area.

If true, this means that there cannot be any source of ignition within 18" of the floor. Electrical receptacles and switches are considered a source of ignition unless they're listed for use in classified atmospheres.

This is why water heaters and furnaces are installed on platforms, and not directly on the floor.

Rob

P.S. Hopefully, KCtermite will chime in on this one, he's got a pretty good handle on code issues.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 11:09 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Outlet height in garages


24x30 garage / workshop

I put most at 48" - except for one wall that has a long work bench, there I put several about a few inches above the workbench height.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 11:22 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Stillwater, MN
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outlet height in garages


Quote:
I'm not absolutely certain, but I believe that a garage that has the ability to store motor vehicles is a classified (hazardous) area.

If true, this means that there cannot be any source of ignition within 18" of the floor. Electrical receptacles and switches are considered a source of ignition unless they're listed for use in classified atmospheres.

This is why water heaters and furnaces are installed on platforms, and not directly on the floor.

Rob

P.S. Hopefully, KCtermite will chime in on this one, he's got a pretty good handle on code issues.
If this is true you would have to have EVERYTHING in your garage piped in IMC or Rigid..... You know you can still create an arc just plugging something in or flipping a switch? I don't think you can have any switches or receptacles in a hazardous location.... To the OP I don't think there is a requirement for height( I'm too lazy to go out in the 20 degree weather, and get my code book). Best of Luck! Don't do anything hot! Ben
swaterbenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 12:31 AM   #10
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet height in garages


Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
I'm not absolutely certain, but I believe that a garage that has the ability to store motor vehicles is a classified (hazardous) area.

If true, this means that there cannot be any source of ignition within 18" of the floor. Electrical receptacles and switches are considered a source of ignition unless they're listed for use in classified atmospheres.

This is why water heaters and furnaces are installed on platforms, and not directly on the floor.

Rob

P.S. Hopefully, KCtermite will chime in on this one, he's got a pretty good handle on code issues.
There is no height requirement for garage receptacles. Most around here set them at about 48".

Ignition sources have to be elevated above 18" in garages. That's basically because of the potential for combustible heavy vapor buildup. The challenging gray area is the mysterious definition of sources of ignition. In my opinion, this code was put in place to prevent water heater installation (or furnaces) on the garage floor back before they mandated the change to sealed combustion water heaters (which an ICC memorandum now allows on garage floors).

Honestly, I've never in all my years had anyone install a receptacle, switch or panel within 18" of a garage floor, so I've never had to make this call. If I had to take a stance I would not permit anything that could throw a spark/arc within that 18" space, and that includes receptacles and switches. Better to err on the safe side.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 12:36 AM   #11
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet height in garages


Quote:
Originally Posted by swaterbenny View Post
If this is true you would have to have EVERYTHING in your garage piped in IMC or Rigid.....
I think Micromind was referring to the hazardous nature of garages due to combustible products (gas, cars, lawnmowers, paint thinner, etc), not the physical protection requirements of wiring.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 12:38 AM   #12
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,625
Rewards Points: 1,044
Default

Outlet height in garages


The hazardous area is only from the floor up 18". The area more than 18" off the floor is non-hazardous.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 01:03 AM   #13
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet height in garages


Correct!
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 09:06 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet height in garages


I'm actually insulating & finishing my garage - living space above
So my wire will be in the walls/joists
If I had to add anything after I'd probably run conduit
But its going to have plenty of power with a 100a sub
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 09:54 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outlet height in garages


Thanks guys. I appreciate all the info.

steve37887 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
stove gas outlet height amakarevic Plumbing 1 10-05-2008 06:22 PM
outlet height beneath large casement windows DangerMouse Electrical 3 07-29-2008 03:09 PM
Minimum outlet height? Taipans Electrical 32 03-04-2008 04:31 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 09:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.