Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2011, 11:46 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outlet for furnace is dead


yesterday my furnace shut off and the thermostat control panel went dead. I discovered that the bussman fuse located at the outlet was blown. A small space heater had been plugged into an adjacent outlet that must be ran on the same circuit. Today i replaced the fuse but still get no power from the outlet. The circuit breaker doesnt appear to be getting tripped. The temps here have dropped below freezing at night so i really need to get this problem solved.

eric784 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 12:13 PM   #2
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,683
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

outlet for furnace is dead


Quote:
The circuit breaker doesnt appear to be getting tripped.
Ayuh,... Turn it all the way Off, then all the way back On, 'n check yer outlet...

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 12:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outlet for furnace is dead


sorry i guess i should have stated that i have done that already. all the breakers have been reset after replacing the fuse.
eric784 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 12:43 PM   #4
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 767
Rewards Points: 502
Default

outlet for furnace is dead


With the breaker off, start opening up and inspecting the outlet boxes on that circuit. I'll bet the load from the space heater burned a loose connection open.
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 08:05 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outlet for furnace is dead


this is why furnaces are supposed to have their own dedicated circuit.
swschrad is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to swschrad For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (12-05-2011)
Old 12-05-2011, 08:09 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,429
Rewards Points: 2,172
Default

outlet for furnace is dead


did you make sure the fuse was good.....alot of these fuses been around long time.....just saying....check with meter....

ben's plumbing is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bussman, furnace, fuse, heater


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd voltages at outlet TJF Electrical 12 11-01-2011 09:13 PM
Dead outlet, what is easiest way to trace?? walt1122 Electrical 6 08-29-2011 05:06 PM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 05:13 PM
Expanding dead outlet problem gohanman Electrical 4 08-16-2010 11:15 AM
Outlet is dead but ears are hot!? Whassup? Hubandwif Electrical 33 03-23-2009 08:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.