Outlet For A Dryer - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2007, 07:45 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 235
Rewards Points: 150
Default

outlet for a dryer


does it matter what side the black and red wires attach to on the outlet for the plug? I know black and red go to the brass screws and white to the silver.

Advertisement

econdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 07:56 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

outlet for a dryer


No, it does not matter.

Advertisement

jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 11:21 PM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,258
Rewards Points: 2,486
Default

outlet for a dryer


By chance is this a new installation? If so you need a 4 wire feeder to be code compliant. You need 2 hots a neutral and ground.

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 11:08 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Question

outlet for a dryer


By chance is this a new installation? If so you need a 4 wire feeder to be code compliant. You need 2 hots a neutral and ground.

Stubbie

hello,

dont u also need the neutral so u can get 110vac-120vac between a one leg and neutral/ground? (for a 120vac light or motor in an appiance)

bob
bobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 12:18 AM   #5
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

outlet for a dryer


There is no nuetral in a 220 circuit.
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 05:14 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

outlet for a dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer View Post
There is no nuetral in a 220 circuit.
but there is a 120 volt control circuit in a dryer.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 07:35 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

outlet for a dryer


hello,

how do you get the 120vac for the motor, lights, timer, for the dryer, if there is only 240vac supplied to the dryer?

bob
bobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 08:19 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

outlet for a dryer


jproffer's reply while correct, was not accurate in the sense of this topic.

99.99% of residential electric dryers in the US are 120/240v thus requiring a neutral. They ALWAYS have. It was the ground that was an exception in past years.
ALL new 120/240v electric dryer installations now require four wires. Hot; hot; neutral; ground.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 11:33 PM   #9
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

outlet for a dryer


My apologies...quick general response...should have given it a little more thought for the exact topic at hand.
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 10:34 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

outlet for a dryer


hello,

thank you guys for clearing up the 120v/240v for the electric dryer. all tho im not a pro, i did think you needed a neutral to get 120vac from a 240vac circuit..bob
bobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2007, 01:03 AM   #11
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,258
Rewards Points: 2,486
Default

outlet for a dryer


I never understood why you were asking that the neutral be explained?? When you responded to me in bold type that the neutral needed to be there for 120 volts, it sorta made me think you were joking or messing with the thread. Besides also providing the safety ground path for 3 wire hookups, why else would it be there other than for 120 volts? The op never asked for someone to explain the purpose of the neutral in the dryer circuit. What was there to clear up?

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2007, 07:05 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

outlet for a dryer


helo.

i was refering to the post that said, there is no neutral in a 240vac. there is, if the appliance needs it, for 120vac purposes. i just wanted to know if i was correct, sorry for the confussion...bob
bobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2007, 11:14 PM   #13
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,258
Rewards Points: 2,486
Default

outlet for a dryer


Oh...ok I see what you were wanting now, I was a little confused at the question....no problem.

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 06:31 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outlet for a dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
jproffer's reply while correct, was not accurate in the sense of this topic.

99.99% of residential electric dryers in the US are 120/240v thus requiring a neutral. They ALWAYS have. It was the ground that was an exception in past years.
ALL new 120/240v electric dryer installations now require four wires. Hot; hot; neutral; ground.
Speedy Petey, it sounds like maybe you can help me with a related problem. Maybe there is no help. I am a missionary in Papua New Guinea. I was ignorant of how our dryers in the US achieved their 240v and that they still used 120v for system functions. Well here I am 10,000 miles from home, shipped my dryer (its a nice one), and I have no clue if there is a way to wire this thing to work with the 220 power supply here. Is there a way to split it by adding a neutral block? Can I step it down and then back up using transformers?
Calvaryreachespng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 05:09 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

outlet for a dryer


calvery, what is the system voltage where you are?

My guess is that 230 volt is phase to neutral.

You can buy a transformer to convert from 230 to 230 with neutral, but a dryer would be cheeper.

Advertisement

__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Dryer wiring/plug question SpaceCrawler Electrical 6 08-26-2008 05:33 PM
Problem with ELECTRIC DRYER plugs SpaceCrawler Appliances 6 06-03-2007 11:21 AM
Location of 220 and 110 outlets for dryer and washer JAJJ Electrical 2 08-07-2006 10:16 PM
20a Outlet Vs. 15a Outlet bobo Electrical 3 05-29-2006 11:55 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 09:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts