Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2005, 10:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1
Share |
Question

Outlet covered by stucco


I believe I have an outlet that was covered by stucco when the house was built. It is on the back porch (outside GFI). I have tried to see if there was a bulge in the wall but there isnt which make me believe the box is filled with mortar so no bulge will exist. How can I find this roughed in outlet? I know the general area but would only be guessing if I measured and approximated (based on the location of the other outlet on the back porch). How do I find it - if it even exists????

Kuwagner

kuwagner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2005, 05:38 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 35
Default

Outlet covered by stucco


Quote:
Originally Posted by kuwagner
How do I find it - if it even exists????
When we as electricians lost floor boxes in poured concrete floors, we used to find them with a hammer. It's not as bad as it sounds, the hammer when tapped gently enough so as not to damage the surface can often pinpoint the location of the hidden box by sound.

Then once you think you have the location pinpointed, it's a leap of faith to start pounding to either unearth the opening, or to make a hole that needs patching. In your case, if it's a box filled with stucco mix, I'd imagine it would sound more solid than the surrounding wall, construction guys, am I right?

Sportbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2005, 09:31 AM   #3
Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 835
Default

Outlet covered by stucco


Normally, the exterior box will be very close to an interior box, so this should give you a clue as to where to start looking. The hammer tap will work unless the box is completely full, then it will sound just like the rest of the wall. Many new stud detectors will also locate power inside the wall, might be worth a try.
Teetorbilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2005, 05:50 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,688
Default

Outlet covered by stucco


I would think it would be within several feet of the back door. Like teetor said, some stud finders can detect electrical also. The problem I have with them is you have to flat on the wall. What I do is take a peice of cardboard and use that as my wall surface.I doubt that the recepiticale is installed, but the wires are all that is in the box.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2005, 09:55 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

Outlet covered by stucco


I know this isn't what you want to hear, but this is a brand new house??? Get the GC back to do this!!!

Who covered the box?
Who didn't notice there was no receptacle where one was roughed?

I know mistakes happen, believe me, but this is NOT your mistake to fix.

You have a warrantee with a new home. Use it.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
outlet made a pop, spark, tripped breaker-need to fix louisemr Electrical 1 06-13-2007 07:58 PM
couple of q's on stucco exterior joeyboy Building & Construction 7 05-19-2007 10:04 AM
20a Outlet Vs. 15a Outlet bobo Electrical 3 05-29-2006 10:55 PM
Adding garage outlet Shane Electrical 1 02-23-2006 04:43 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.