Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2009, 03:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Outlet controlled by a wall switch


hi all
i have a outlet that is controlled by a wall switch, the only thing plugged into it is a lamp.

some days the outlet will work and other times it will not work
if i leave it alone for a few days then retry it again it works.

does this sound like a bad switch or a wiring problem in the wall?

rwright46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 03:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 508
Default

Outlet controlled by a wall switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by rwright46 View Post
hi all
i have a outlet that is controlled by a wall switch, the only thing plugged into it is a lamp.

some days the outlet will work and other times it will not work
if i leave it alone for a few days then retry it again it works.

does this sound like a bad switch or a wiring problem in the wall?
Could be either, but I'd check the switch first. That's the component that is getting stressed all the time with off/on, off/on, etc. so it is the first suspect. Easy to test though.

Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 04:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Outlet controlled by a wall switch


Device are prone to fail much more than wiring....unless it's not stock wiring.

Replace the sw and recep.

Don't forget to break the tab if it's a half switched recep. (look closely at the hot side terminals)
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 04:02 PM   #4
BIGRED
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 486
Default

Outlet controlled by a wall switch


It sounds like loose screws. Mebbe on the switch, mebbe on the outlet, mebbe in the plug for the lamp, mebbe in the socket for the lamp. Maybe all of them. If you do not work with this a lot I would suggest turning off the breaker for this area first; then take stuff apart and snug up all the screws.
Grampa Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 04:05 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Outlet controlled by a wall switch


thank to all that replied
rwright46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 05:00 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Outlet controlled by a wall switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by rwright46 View Post
thank to all that replied
You have a voltmeter?

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 way switch with 2 fixtures controlled independently? Terry B Electrical 6 05-05-2009 06:34 PM
Motion switch wired to two circuits Sibkuz Electrical 2 04-22-2009 07:31 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
Wall Switch sue Electrical 4 02-06-2005 07:05 PM
installing a light fixture on a switch controlled outlet Unregistered Electrical 1 02-24-2004 10:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.