Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-20-2012, 06:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Outlet controlled by switch


So I'm finally completely stumped...I have an outlet controlled by a switch on the wall and cannot for the life of me figure out how to wire it to make it work. The power comes from 12-2 or 14-2 (not sure how to tell the difference) wire into the outlet, travels from there via 12-3 or 14-3 wire to 3 outlets along the circuit then to the switch that should control the outlet. The only reason I know it works is because I used to turn it off to shut down the tv to make my sons mad. Side note, can someone tell me how a switch that comes after an outlet in the series can control that outlet?! And, of course, how do I need everything wired to make it work?

Thanks

fburdine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 07:09 PM   #2
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Default

Outlet controlled by switch


That's why they used 3 wires. That 3rd wire carries the hot all the way to the switch (probably the red) then the other wire (probably the black) brings the power from the switch back down the chain to each device, like a long loop.

Hammerlane probably has a drawing of this already and will probably be along shortly.

__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 07:11 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,546
Default

Outlet controlled by switch


http://www.ask-the-electrician.com/s...g-diagram.html
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 07:13 PM   #4
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Default

Outlet controlled by switch


See 2nd picture in post # 4

Need help with separating the control of lights
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!

Last edited by TTW; 12-20-2012 at 07:14 PM. Reason: forgot link
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, light switch


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combo light switch outlet re-wire question seasidediy Electrical 3 07-21-2011 05:02 AM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 08:38 PM
Outlet controlled by a wall switch rwright46 Electrical 5 04-30-2009 05:00 PM
Help with outlet controlled by switch craigpall Electrical 2 05-18-2008 08:08 AM
installing a light fixture on a switch controlled outlet Unregistered Electrical 1 02-24-2004 10:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.