Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2005, 02:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Outlet controlled by switch


I have an outlet that is controlled by a wall switch and I replaced the switch and outlet so that the color matched the room since I painted. I put all the wires in the same place on the new switch and outlet but now the switch does not work - the outlet has power no matter if the switch is on or off.

Any help would be appreciated

Shardi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005, 07:19 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 253
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outlet controlled by switch


Sounds like you got a couple of black wires mixed up. Hard to troubleshoot from here but if it was working before it should not be to hard to get it back. HS.

K2eoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005, 07:20 PM   #3
Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 835
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outlet controlled by switch


Shardi, If you remove the receptacle and look on the side where the black and (possibly) red wire is, you will see a bridge between the two terminals. It is usually brass and has a raised part. Take some needlenose pliers to the raised part and break the connection between the two terminals. Your switch should work again.
Teetorbilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005, 08:18 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 253
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outlet controlled by switch


Yes Teetor is correct. I just ran back to change my post and he was here first. That would make it a half switched receptacle. There is probably a tab on the white side that does not need to be broken. I hope there was no harm done by my first post. HS
K2eoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 06:24 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Talking

Outlet controlled by switch


That worked like a charm, thanks to you both
Shardi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with outlet controlled by switch craigpall Electrical 2 05-18-2008 08:08 AM
Convert an Outlet into a Switch? Geo747 Electrical 3 07-08-2007 10:23 AM
HELP I need to wire a switch to an outlet to hook up my garbage disposal r8drman69 Electrical 8 06-05-2007 10:18 PM
Tracing a Light Switch to an Outlet spam33 Electrical 17 07-24-2006 03:57 PM
installing a light fixture on a switch controlled outlet Unregistered Electrical 1 02-24-2004 10:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.