Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-10-2011, 06:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Outlet causes breaker to trip when something is plugged into it.


Every time I try to use this one outlet it trips the breaker I can't seem to figure out why. When I reset the breaker as long as nothing is plugged into that outlet it will reset fine but the ground fault indicator light comes on for a second. Please help
yama450yfz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 07:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,779
Default

Outlet causes breaker to trip when something is plugged into it.


Probably some wires touching in back.

Does the breaker trip if you press the outlet with your thumb without plugging anything in?

Does the breaker trip if you plug a different item in?

Does a breaker trip if you use another outlet (receptacle) for the item you are plugging in?

Is it a regular breaker or a GFCI breaker that is tripping?
__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 07:06 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,675
Default

Outlet causes breaker to trip when something is plugged into it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by yama450yfz View Post
Every time I try to use this one outlet it trips the breaker I can't seem to figure out why. When I reset the breaker as long as nothing is plugged into that outlet it will reset fine but the ground fault indicator light comes on for a second. Please help
Are you talking about a circuit breaker or a GFCI receptacle?
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 07:06 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,881
Default

Outlet causes breaker to trip when something is plugged into it.


So it is a GFCI, I would try plugging what is causing it to trip into another outlet, and see if that item causes the breaker on that outlet to trip. Same with testing those devices tripping said gfci, into another gfci to see if it is either the devices, or the gfci that is tripping is bad.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 06:42 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,136
Default

Outlet causes breaker to trip when something is plugged into it.


Replace the GFCI their cheap.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Half of double plug outlet blows breaker sjt Electrical 4 05-20-2011 03:02 PM
Don't understand this breaker tripping problem majesticjess Electrical 10 03-05-2010 06:42 PM
GFCI Breaker & GFCI Outlet together??? abinpa General DIY Discussions 6 04-12-2009 08:59 PM
Circuit out but circuit breaker didn't trip PaulenAndrew Electrical 17 08-16-2008 08:38 AM
Circuit BReaker Question - breaker didn't trip and no power thru the circuit Ronin_67 Electrical 2 08-08-2008 06:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.