Outlet Boxes As Junctions? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2012, 07:27 AM   #1
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10

Outlet boxes as junctions?

I want to move two outlets, that are currently at a normal "low" height on the wall, maybe 18", to up and behind my flatscreen tvs. About 5' from the floor.

Is it acceptable, by code, to install a new outlet box in the new location and use the existing box as a point to splice and run the wires up to the new box?
Attached Thumbnails
Outlet boxes as junctions?-untitled.jpg  


kbrookst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 07:31 AM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000

yes as long as the box fill (number and size of wires) do not exceed the amount for the box.


Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 08:20 AM   #3
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,268
Rewards Points: 742

and the old box neads to be left accesible, either put a blank cover on it or leave the exisiting plug there.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 08:26 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,236
Rewards Points: 626

If you have the box capacity that others mentioned, just run one cable up to the new location. The splices will be in the old box. Think of this as a T.
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swithced Outlet to Ceiling Light/Fan Troubles adamiano86 Electrical 7 01-29-2012 09:36 PM
Changing 2 way switch to control light, not outlet? andysam Electrical 0 05-30-2011 09:20 PM
Outlet not working, reading "open ground" syren Electrical 3 04-19-2010 04:20 PM
Need to sink existing outlet boxes for new backsplash Stcrosby Electrical 14 02-08-2010 07:31 PM
Adding additional outlet. Pigtail four sets of wires? svanhess Electrical 5 07-12-2009 10:27 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1