Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-31-2007, 03:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

outlet box: extension possible?


I have decided to install beadboard planks, 9/16 in thick, over the drywall in my bathroom. My problem is the outlet boxes are placed, of course, so that the receptacles and switches are flush with the drywall.

I used the blue plastic type outlet boxes when I first installed them.

Do I have to pull the boxes and reseat them 9/16" out, or is there a code-friendly way to leave them in place and get the receptacles and switches flush with the beadboard?

Thanks.

SJ
sloppyJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 04:24 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 886
Default

outlet box: extension possible?


Box extenders also called plaster rings are available even at the big box stores. Happy hunting! Eventually the electric guy will get there to show you where they are at.

this is the " right way" to do it.
Big Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 11:47 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Default

outlet box: extension possible?


Thank you.
sloppyJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 06:07 AM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,506
Default

outlet box: extension possible?


Box extenders by the same manufacturer as the blue boxes are available and should be used. They are NOT the same thing as a plaster ring.
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 08:08 AM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,676
Default

outlet box: extension possible?


I use Arlington BE-1's for this purpose.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 11:24 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Default

outlet box: extension possible?


Thanks for your help. I begin work tomorrow.
sloppyJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 08:09 AM   #7
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Default

outlet box: extension possible?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
I use Arlington BE-1's for this purpose.
So do I. Don't forget longer 6/32 screws. The ones that come with the receptacles never seem to be long enough.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical outlet hook up. helpless handyman Electrical 4 07-30-2007 08:18 PM
Bathroom outlet - distance from tub?? plbsplbs Electrical 11 07-09-2007 08:22 PM
20a Outlet Vs. 15a Outlet bobo Electrical 3 05-29-2006 10:55 PM
Adding garage outlet Shane Electrical 1 02-23-2006 04:43 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.