Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-31-2013, 03:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbia SC
Posts: 24
Share |
Default

Outlet before GFCI string


I have a dedicated power line running from the circuit panel to a 1/2 bath on the first floor (with a GFCI outlet), to two more GFCI outlets in the 2 upstairs baths.

Can I insert a non-GFCI outlet in this string, before the first GFCI outlet, and have it always hot? and not affected by a GFCI outlet closing the circuit further along in the string?

I would think so - but I thought I'd check.

Next, how would I connect the hot line from the circuit panel to both the always hot outlet AND the first GFCI outlet... within the first GFCI box?

I think I should be able to use wire nuts to join the hot line to the new wire for the new outlet, adding pigtail wires at each wire nut... and use these pigtail wires to connect to the GFCI hot, neutral, ground screws.

Thanks,
Rich

Rich

rdarlin2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 03:10 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,845
Default

Outlet before GFCI string


No. As described this circuit should only serve BR receps. ALL bathroom receps must be GFCI protected.

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (12-31-2013)
Old 12-31-2013, 03:47 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbia SC
Posts: 24
Default

Outlet before GFCI string


Edit : there is no GFI Breaker in the breaker panel.
rdarlin2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 05:46 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,529
Default

Outlet before GFCI string


You cannot have non-GFI receptacles in the bathroom.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (12-31-2013)
Old 12-31-2013, 05:56 PM   #5
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,547
Default

Outlet before GFCI string


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You cannot have non-GFI receptacles in the bathroom.
...and you cannot have non-bathroom receptacles on the bathroom circuit.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
brric (12-31-2013), Jim Port (12-31-2013)
Old 01-02-2014, 09:50 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbia SC
Posts: 24
Default

Outlet before GFCI string


OK. Thanks for answering the question.
I'll use the light switch then, to power the outlet (which is going to be in an adjoining room).

Rich
rdarlin2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 12:14 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,529
Default

Outlet before GFCI string


Not all switches have a neutral in the box. A switch loop is only hot conductors.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 03:42 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 574
Default

Outlet before GFCI string


Why do you want to do this? There might be a work around.

You can take the power off before the GFCI outlet to your new GFCI outlet; so that whatever happens on the first one doesn't affect the second one.
Toller is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 06:52 PM   #9
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,547
Default

Outlet before GFCI string


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toller View Post
Why do you want to do this? There might be a work around.

You can take the power off before the GFCI outlet to your new GFCI outlet; so that whatever happens on the first one doesn't affect the second one.
That doesn't fix any of the problems. Of course it can be wired that way, but it's not possible for that to be legal, for the reasons stated already: GFCI's are required in bathrooms, and non-bathroom receptacles are not allowed on the bathroom circuit. So this new receptacle is either A: in a bathroom, and therefore needs GFCI protection or B: not in a bathroom, in which case it's not allowed on this circuit.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (01-02-2014)
Old 01-03-2014, 04:56 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbia SC
Posts: 24
Default

Outlet before GFCI string


For clarification, I intended to put the outlet facing into another room, powered by the power line into the light switch in the bathroom. I get that I should not use the GFI line - use that for GFI outlets only... (tks Toller/Mpoulton).

Jim, I don't want to 'loop' the outlet (as I understand it - that means the light switch would power off both the light and the outlet... putting the outlet before the switch, instead of the switch at the beginning of the circuit.)

I now have three lines leading into and out of the light switch box.
1- power from the breaker panel in
2- power from the light switch box that goes further to power other outlets etc.
3- power from the light switch box to the light.

I want to add one other line coming out of the light switch box that powers the new outlet. (again outside of the circuit that powers the light)

I think I should connect the black, white and ground of all 4 lines together, then pigtail off the lines to power the light switch.

Does that make sense?

Rich
rdarlin2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 05:07 PM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,529
Default

Outlet before GFCI string


You do not have a switch loop. In a switch loop there is the hot white and the switched black hot.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 01:25 AM   #12
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,547
Default

Outlet before GFCI string


Quote:
Originally Posted by rdarlin2 View Post
For clarification, I intended to put the outlet facing into another room, powered by the power line into the light switch in the bathroom. I get that I should not use the GFI line - use that for GFI outlets only... (tks Toller/Mpoulton).
If it's on the same circuit as the bathroom receptacles, it's a code violation.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 12:47 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbia SC
Posts: 24
Default

Outlet before GFCI string


Jim - it isn't a switch loop, I understand.
I've got a single pole light switch. The outlet won't be in line with the light - only the power to the light will be affected by the light switch. I intend to connect the new outlet power line from the incoming power line, before the switch circuit.

mpoulton - the outlet will not be on the same circuit as the bathroom GFI outlet
rdarlin2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 09:13 PM   #14
In a little over my head
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 732
Default

Outlet before GFCI string


rdarlin2,
listen to mpoulton. although your new outlet will not be protected by the GFCI, it is (proposed to be) still on the same fused circuit and in another (non-bath)room. That is not allowed by code.
ratherbefishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 11:13 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbia SC
Posts: 24
Default

Outlet before GFCI string


Rather...

I did listen to Jim. I do not plan to use the GFCI circuit/power for the outlet.

The power circuit/line I plan to use currently powers the light switch in the bath, as well as outlets in other rooms. The bath light is currently the first use of that line; and I plan to add the outlet in front of the bath light switch.

Are we talking about the same thing? or am I confusing the issue?

Rich

rdarlin2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gfci switch/outlet


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bathroom GFCI Outlet trouble RyG1357 Electrical 3 08-20-2011 03:40 PM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 05:13 PM
Porch outlet, and livingroom on bathroom GFCI circuit? Is that uncommon? 211 Electrical 5 01-06-2011 02:13 PM
GFCI outlet failed in a rain storm, now has no power! Kaybee33 Electrical 5 12-28-2010 05:38 PM
Replacing outlet to new GFCI - Wall switch Protonix Electrical 13 04-09-2009 08:36 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.