Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-15-2012, 03:51 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Share |
Default

Outlet - 220' underground Run - MWBC


I have a 220' conduit run from the house to the end of the driveway that I want to finally pull electric thru for Christmas lights, etc.

The total distance run from there to the panel, will be in the neighbor hood of 280'.

My initial plan was to pull a single circuit with #12, but now I am considering making it two circuits.

So long as I put each circuit on a separate phase in the panel, I can share the neutral, correct?

Someday we might put a gate out there, so I might as well run the second circuit now.

So I can pull 4 #12 wires (2 blacks, 1 white and 1 green)?

Voltage drop will be acceptable for this purpose, especially since bumping up to #10 increases the cost by $40 per run when considering that I'll purchase 4 - 500' spools. (A $200 difference)

I did a voltage drop calculation and for #12 at 15 amp load for 280' gives me a voltage of 106. In the past, we have used #14 cords to handle probably 10 strands of lights and I think that only pulled 5 amps.

I dont care if the Christmas lights get 106v instead of 120, especially considering LED strings pull less.

__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 03:55 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,861
Default

Outlet - 220' underground Run - MWBC


The multiwire branch circuit will work fine. Just double check to be sure that when you hook it up at the panel that the two sides have 240 volts across them (not 0 volts)

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 03:57 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Outlet - 220' underground Run - MWBC


Your lights may not care, but your future electric gate will care. Spend the extra money now or later, it really doesn't matter, but the gate will need larger wire.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 04:07 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Default

Outlet - 220' underground Run - MWBC


Most of the controllers I am familiar with for residential applications have a max draw of 5 amps, so @280' that would be a voltage of 114.

The chances of us putting a gate in, are low, but one can dream
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 04:28 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,936
Default

Outlet - 220' underground Run - MWBC


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
The multiwire branch circuit will work fine. Just double check to be sure that when you hook it up at the panel that the two sides have 240 volts across them (not 0 volts)
Use a 2 pole breaker for your MWBC and you will not have to worry about this issue (it is a code requirement to use a 2 pole or 2 single poles with handle ties).

Use a battery powered gate opener and use the AC to run a battery charger.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 05:26 PM   #6
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,405
Default

Outlet - 220' underground Run - MWBC


I would rather run one full power circuit rather than 2 weak ones. You never know what you will want to plug in there, after it is there.

I would use a #8. If I was worried about a the possible 2nd circuit, I would bury a 2nd conduit in the trench.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 10:50 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Default

Outlet - 220' underground Run - MWBC


Thanks all for your input.

__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swithced Outlet to Ceiling Light/Fan Troubles adamiano86 Electrical 7 01-29-2012 09:36 PM
Odd Fireplace Outlet Behavior permagrin Electrical 2 12-17-2011 08:06 AM
Switched outlet series Overkll Electrical 4 12-07-2010 07:38 AM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 08:38 PM
Help Help richie02 Electrical 7 06-17-2008 08:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.