Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2013, 06:10 PM   #1
Member
 
beginner50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 98
Share |
Default

Outlet


I have no electrical outlets in either my down or up stairs bathrooms, can I run wire from the vanity light down to where I want my outlet?? I have no experience with such things but that's why I'm here. Also every bedroom and room except kitchen and dining room have one little light right byvthe door. How can I place different fixtures in each?? Thanks

beginner50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 06:26 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Zeeland MI
Posts: 82
Default

Outlet


A bathroom with no receptacle do you have a pull chain light?
Its possible.
You run the risk of having the receptacle being switched by the light switch depending on how it is wired.

What ever you do make sure it is a GFCI.

Do you have access in the attic or basement?
Attached Images
 

mech_gui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 06:30 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,341
Default

Outlet


Just a few guesses.
Really old house.
60 amp, panel.
May even have old knob and tube wiring.
Time for a pro real electrition.
Not a friend of a frenid who have done this before to try and save a few bucks.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 08:03 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,540
Default

Outlet


You need to add your location. Bathroom receptacles must be on a 20 amp circuit that serves only the bathroom or that serves only bathroom receptacles from different bathrooms.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 08:16 PM   #5
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

Outlet


Could you provide some more information about the age of your house, wiring type (if you can tell), etc.?
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 08:19 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Zeeland MI
Posts: 82
Default

Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle_in_rure View Post
Could you provide some more information about the age of your house, wiring type (if you can tell), etc.?
you know that it is K&T or mineral fiber. Wire too short, brittle blech

I'd run new if I I had room in the panel.
mech_gui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 09:04 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Outlet


Regardless, if the home is old enough that there are no receptacles in the bathrooms it is definitely safe to say he CANNOT run receptacles off the vanity light wiring.
If you have no experience with wiring now is not a good time to start. This is more of a project than a beginner should attempt. You'll need to run a line from your panel to the bathroom for these receptacles.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Stubbie (03-09-2013)
Old 03-09-2013, 09:08 PM   #8
Member
 
beginner50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 98
Default

Outlet


1915 built home. The vanity light that was previously in the downstairs bath had a plug in. The wires that were used for the old vanity I used for our new vanity but I have no idea about the rest.
beginner50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 09:12 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Zeeland MI
Posts: 82
Default

Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by beginner50 View Post
1915 built home. The vanity light that was previously in the downstairs bath had a plug in. The wires that were used for the old vanity I used for our new vanity but I have no idea about the rest.
I'm starting to feel the age of the home.

I would look into a a main panel upgrade possibly doing some re-wiring. I agree with speedy this DIY project could go south really fast.
mech_gui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 10:20 PM   #10
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by beginner50 View Post
1915 built home. The vanity light that was previously in the downstairs bath had a plug in. The wires that were used for the old vanity I used for our new vanity but I have no idea about the rest.
Your best bet is to call an electrician. Running receptacles to bathrooms requires new circuits.

Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outdoor Outlet seansy59 Electrical 3 03-09-2012 03:50 PM
Swithced Outlet to Ceiling Light/Fan Troubles adamiano86 Electrical 7 01-29-2012 09:36 PM
Switched outlet series Overkll Electrical 4 12-07-2010 07:38 AM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 08:38 PM
Help Help richie02 Electrical 7 06-17-2008 08:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.