Outdoor Wiring Question - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2012, 07:38 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outdoor Wiring Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by OKDrew63 View Post
Since this is considered a portable hot tub, single family dwelling and installed outside, just what is the requirement for the disconnect location?
Maybe I was a little too wordy with my first try.

Inside or outside of the privacy panels that are surrounding the deck?
Thanks.

Advertisement

OKDrew63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 07:40 PM   #17
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,164
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

Outdoor Wiring Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by OKDrew63 View Post
Maybe I was a little too wordy with my first try.

Inside or outside of the privacy panels that are surrounding the deck?
Thanks.
Just re read what I highlighted in RED, it's all right there...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 10:24 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outdoor Wiring Question


Sometimes my comprehension skills can be a little lacking. Not working with electric and the NEC very often can get me cross eyed after a while.

Thanks again.
OKDrew63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 01:02 AM   #19
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outdoor Wiring Question


Okdrew.,

I am sorry to get this sidetracked for a moment but are you aware about the weight of the spa tub ?? I just hope you did make a reforceing brace to support extra weight of the tub on the deck.

I have see some of them bowed a bit with a bit of weight when one of my customer called me about one of the luminaire popped out of the place and I say EH?? that thing about ready to drop I will say about 15mm worth of lag bolts is holding it back so empty the tub out and reforce it and at the same time I fixed the luminarie.

As far for the requirment for spa the guys whom posted in here did nailed on the spot so just be aware with that.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 08:52 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outdoor Wiring Question


While I have not had a structural EN look over my plans for the deck and the city does not require a permit (floating deck), I have had input from 2 or 3 EN's that can be somewhat anal retentive about things and construction - one of them my son.

The 16'x15' deck is going to be about 8" above grade on one end and about 18" above grade on the other, 4x4 PT posts will be used.

Joists will be 2x8's that will be sitting on a 4x6 support beam in the middle, which will be resting on three 8" concrete piers, roughly 2' deep. Joists will be tied to the beams with hurricane straps as there will be about a 1' overlap.

On each side of the main support beam, I'll have another 4x6 beam resting on three 8" concrete piers. These willl be directly under the hot tub as will the main support beam and the joists will be sitting on these beams as well. It's an 8x8 hot tub, around 5K pounds when in use.

Joists will be attached to rim joists with joist hangers.

Right now, all joists are 16" OC, but considering 12" OC under the the hot tub area.

That's my plan.

5/4x6 decking, most likely cedar.
OKDrew63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 05:07 PM   #21
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,164
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

Outdoor Wiring Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by OKDrew63 View Post
While I have not had a structural EN look over my plans for the deck and the city does not require a permit (floating deck), I have had input from 2 or 3 EN's that can be somewhat anal retentive about things and construction - one of them my son.

The 16'x15' deck is going to be about 8" above grade on one end and about 18" above grade on the other, 4x4 PT posts will be used.

Joists will be 2x8's that will be sitting on a 4x6 support beam in the middle, which will be resting on three 8" concrete piers, roughly 2' deep. Joists will be tied to the beams with hurricane straps as there will be about a 1' overlap.

On each side of the main support beam, I'll have another 4x6 beam resting on three 8" concrete piers. These willl be directly under the hot tub as will the main support beam and the joists will be sitting on these beams as well. It's an 8x8 hot tub, around 5K pounds when in use.

Joists will be attached to rim joists with joist hangers.

Right now, all joists are 16" OC, but considering 12" OC under the the hot tub area.

That's my plan.

5/4x6 decking, most likely cedar.
deleted....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 02:33 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outdoor Wiring Question


[QUOTE=OKDrew63;982802]Thanks for the help.

Jim, it was my understanding that THHN is typically rated THWN as well, that's what I'm counting on, but I'll verify before I drop a couple hundred on the wire.

Does liquid tight have a maximum length usage of 6'?[/QUOTE
Correct, but it depends on the type of liquid tight used. (The regular is restricted to 6ft.).
kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 02:39 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outdoor Wiring Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
deleted....
Whoo, whooo, Wha, Wharr, hee hee ho hoo wharrr! [Daemonic laugh].

...Why, yes-sss! Heerrrre'sssss Johnieee!

...I'm Back!
kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 09:49 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outdoor Wiring Question


[quote=kontoose;983976]
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKDrew63 View Post
Does liquid tight have a maximum length usage of 6'?[/QUOTE
Correct, but it depends on the type of liquid tight used. (The regular is restricted to 6ft.).
What's the irregular type?
OKDrew63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 02:05 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outdoor Wiring Question


[QUOTE=OKDrew63;984127][quote=kontoose;983976]

... I'll post later.
kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 04:52 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outdoor Wiring Question


I have a question on running the THHN/THWN wire. Once I get through the wall and inside the house, do I need to run the wire in conduit to get it to the panel? It's about 4 feet.
Thanks.
OKDrew63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 12:15 AM   #27
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outdoor Wiring Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by OKDrew63 View Post
I have a question on running the THHN/THWN wire. Once I get through the wall and inside the house, do I need to run the wire in conduit to get it to the panel? It's about 4 feet.
Thanks.
If you have easy access inside of the building where you can run the conduit without issue then go for it.

That what I useally do as well and keep the numbers of splices very low so less things can go wrong.

I do not know how well it set up you can use rigid PVC or use the flexi conduit one of the two due you mention under 6 feet so that should not be a issue.
(You may want to double check your local codes on flexiable conduits to make sure if they still legit in your area )


Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 08:39 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outdoor Wiring Question


Thanks Marc.

I stopped to pick up the 6 ga THHN wire yesterday at an electrical supply place, price was around .54/ft, but they only had black and green wire. After I said I needed red and white also, the guy told me I'd just have to 'mark it somehow' to tell which is which.

From my limited reading of the NEC, isn't this against code?
Being recommended from a business that sells directly to the electrician community.

I only bought the black and green, need to find the other somewhere else.
Anyway, just thought I'd throw that out there.
OKDrew63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 02:03 PM   #29
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Outdoor Wiring Question


Depends where you are. We used to be able to mark black cable with phasing(colored tape)tape. Where I am I believe this is till ok for everything but the neutral which has to be colored up to a size #3 these days I think.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 12:10 AM   #30
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outdoor Wiring Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by OKDrew63 View Post
Thanks Marc.

I stopped to pick up the 6 ga THHN wire yesterday at an electrical supply place, price was around .54/ft, but they only had black and green wire. After I said I needed red and white also, the guy told me I'd just have to 'mark it somehow' to tell which is which.

From my limited reading of the NEC, isn't this against code?
Being recommended from a business that sells directly to the electrician community.

I only bought the black and green, need to find the other somewhere else.
Anyway, just thought I'd throw that out there.
It kinda pretty common to remark the 6 gauge conductors but techally wise it kinda voliation of the NEC code it supposed to be on #4 or larger then it is not a issue to remark it but some inspectors will let it slide on #6 I know mine did few time but he mention that getting tighten up now so I don't think I will have much leeway on that anymore beside the exsting installment that part it pretty much left alone.

Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 10:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 01:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 09:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 05:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts