Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-23-2009, 11:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24
Share |
Question

outdoor wiring, electical outlets tripping


in the backyard there are three outlets. the first one has always worked. the other two did not (when we bought the house) we took off the face plates and found out that there were two sets of wires not connected. we assumed these went to the other two outlets so we connected them. This tripped the gfci switch. we reset the gfci and hooked up only the first non working outlet and it worked...didn't trip anything. however, when we hooked up the wires going to the next non-working outlet it tripped the switch again. Is it possible to have it overloaded in the series even if nothing is plugged in? or do you think the wiring going to the last box is damaged underground somewhere? there is cement over the wirng so it is hard to tell where they go. If the wiring is actually damaged, can it be replaced without ripping up the concrete? what would you do in this case? should we hire someone or is there something I can do myself?


Last edited by frgwtchr; 06-24-2009 at 12:05 AM. Reason: adding more information
frgwtchr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 11:29 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

outdoor wiring, electical outlets tripping


It's not an overload, it's a ground fault. The current is going to ground somewhere.

Could be anywhere. My guess is that it's direct buried cable and the homeowner/installer made a taped up splice somewhere and the moisture soaked thru and corrupted his crappy splice.

Good luck


Last edited by 220/221; 06-23-2009 at 11:31 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 08:22 AM   #3
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,539
Default

outdoor wiring, electical outlets tripping


Remove that last receptacle and see if the GFCI still trips. If so, the problem is in the wiring between the two receptacles. If this is direct bury under concrete and not wires in conduit, then you are pretty much SOL... unless you want to bust it up or pay to have a new line drilled underground.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 10:11 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

outdoor wiring, electical outlets tripping


I would find out exactly where all these wires originate and terminate. If you have a bad wire you may have some spares in there just for this purpose. Identify each wire individually, and make sure its good. All you need is 1 hot, 1 neutral and 1 ground. This 120 volt grounded circuit can be used to supply all the receptacles. You only need one GFCI on a circuit. They must all come from the same cable or conduit. Meaning if you have 3 good wires but they are not in the same cable or conduit you cannot use them.
Check your connections on each receptacle. GFCI's have line and load terminals. If it is not wired correctly they will trip.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 10:29 AM   #5
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Default

outdoor wiring, electical outlets tripping


Check all of your outdoor boxes for moisture as well.

I had a similar problem, and not only were parts of the receptacle and box corroded, all of the connections were moist right after a rainfall.
ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 11:15 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24
Smile

outdoor wiring, electical outlets tripping


Thank you all for your replies. We are fairly sure the wires are in conduit under the cement. However. We have decided to call an electrical friend and see what he says. Hopefully his suggestions are in line with the replies here and he knows what he is doing. He works for a licensed company but is coming over as "side-work"/ basically a paid favor. We will see what he says and go from there. Thanks Again!
frgwtchr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 11:56 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

outdoor wiring, electical outlets tripping


Disconnect the neutral wire from the load side of the GFCI and check for no continuity between it and the ground wire.
Reconnect the neutral.
Put a 7-1/2w incand. lamp in series with the ground wire that serves the cable downstream of your GFCI.
If the voltage across the bulb reads from 0.6 vac to up to 120vac you've found your leakage path to ground. A normal reading would be less than 15 mVac.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical outlet box, outdoor wiring, series, underground wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
Code issues for witch operated outlets above kitchen cabinets? jcims Electrical 5 03-25-2009 07:28 PM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 08:37 AM
GFI outlets and power ? CALDWELLAPARTMENTS Electrical 3 07-24-2008 05:32 AM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.