Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-05-2014, 11:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Outdoor weatherproof outlet box wiring...


Hi,

I had some old two wire just buried in my front yard that once was wired to a lamp post. Lamp post been gone since I moved in, and the buried wires were an eye sore.



So I dug them back to the bush line and plan to mount an outlet on my brick...


I bought an in-use weather proof box, receptical, and GFCI outlet...


So, can I use black plastic wire loom, or is this a case for pvc conduit?

I was going to just run the wires under ground to just below the box, and then have them run up ~8in to where I'm mounting the box to the brick.

Would that look alright? That's why I questioned the loom or conduit - you know to make it look more professional.

Thanks - j

justintoo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 09:40 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 458
Rewards Points: 256
Default

Outdoor weatherproof outlet box wiring...


PVC conduit.

IslandGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 10:05 AM   #3
Home Remodeler
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Port Orchard, Wa
Posts: 238
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Outdoor weatherproof outlet box wiring...


No ground wire?
mikey48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 11:52 AM   #4
Rob
 
Robpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Spring Creek NV
Posts: 897
Rewards Points: 548
Default

Outdoor weatherproof outlet box wiring...


Older house?
Robpo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 01:37 PM   #5
Home Remodeler
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Port Orchard, Wa
Posts: 238
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Outdoor weatherproof outlet box wiring...


Yes it is old house but I would not use it unless it was grounded. I think by code if you are modifying the circuit it must be up to code.
mikey48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 01:42 PM   #6
Rob
 
Robpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Spring Creek NV
Posts: 897
Rewards Points: 548
Default

Outdoor weatherproof outlet box wiring...


Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey48 View Post
Yes it is old house but I would not use it unless it was grounded. I think by code if you are modifying the circuit it must be up to code.
can you run a ground wire.
Robpo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 02:15 PM   #7
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Outdoor weatherproof outlet box wiring...


The lack of a ground wire doesn't bug me since it will be gfi protected,My issue is the separate conductors not being rated for direct burial.
Is there a piece of conduit buried there someplace those wires were ran through origionally?
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 09:41 PM   #8
Member
 
Msradell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 1,260
Rewards Points: 666
Default

Outdoor weatherproof outlet box wiring...


Do you know where these wires come from? If so go back to the source and run new underground rated cable from there to where you want to put your outlet! Even if those existing conductors are rated for underground use they need to be in conduit. Also the new outside outlet needs to have a ground conductor as well as GFCI. Do it right or don't bother doing it. By the way, I'm hoping that the circuit of conductors on is already killed.
Msradell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 09:43 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,337
Rewards Points: 2,336
Default

Outdoor weatherproof outlet box wiring...


If I had to make a fair guess. Those wires appear to be Low Voltage wiring.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 05:24 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Outdoor weatherproof outlet box wiring...


Hi there,

Sorry for the no replies, away on vacation.
Now back to reality...(lol)

-No ground wire.
-Older house, yes ~1964.

-Buried. Yes. No conduit. Run from inside my basement furnace room, into a junction box, out of it and through the concrete to the outside. I'm assuming it runs under the drive way to the front yard. Was buried in no conduit under the front year to the former lamp post location.

-Yes. Killed. They are disconnected within the junction box that they run from in the basement. Both have two wires, wire nut and tape.

I wondered about the GFCI and the lack of a green/bare ground wire.

My 'old' house has two-wire. So if I were to run 3-wire out to my outlet box, what does the ground connect to? I'm thinking I could dig it up until it goes under the concrete, run it through conduit, up and out into the box.

thanks - j
justintoo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 05:50 PM   #11
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,337
Rewards Points: 2,336
Default

Outdoor weatherproof outlet box wiring...


You need to run correct wire from your panel to the light. UF is preferable. As stated before. That appears to be 12vDC Low Voltage wiring or someone ran THHN/THWN without conduit. Having an old house is like a present from your grandmother. You never know what you are going to run into, or find as you peel back the layers of problems, previous owners of the home have done.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
justintoo1 (06-13-2014)
Old 06-13-2014, 06:39 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Outdoor weatherproof outlet box wiring...


The wire appears to read this...

Quote:
TYPE USE-STYLE RR-CIRCLE WIRE & CABLE CORP SIZE 12 SOLID
Not sure if that's correct, nor what it means. But some googling...

http://www.southwire.com/products/RHHRHWUSEOEM.htm

Is it USE (Underground Service Entrance) type wire, manufactured by the 'CIRCLE WIRE & CABLE CORP', and a 12 gauge solid wire...right?

thanks -j
justintoo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 06:52 PM   #13
Rob
 
Robpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Spring Creek NV
Posts: 897
Rewards Points: 548
Default

Outdoor weatherproof outlet box wiring...


Quote:
Originally Posted by justintoo1 View Post
Hi there,



My 'old' house has two-wire. So if I were to run 3-wire out to my outlet box, what does the ground connect to? I'm thinking I could dig it up until it goes under the concrete, run it through conduit, up and out into the box.

thanks - j
Is there a ground screw on the junction box and is there a metal cable going to the J-box from the panel box?
Robpo is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Robpo For This Useful Post:
justintoo1 (06-13-2014)
Old 06-13-2014, 06:58 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Outdoor weatherproof outlet box wiring...


Hi again,

Here's my idea of my finished product.



That bottom left text says 'underground run 12 inches deep'.

Then I'll grab 2ft PVC grey conduit and drop it atleast 1ft under. Run the wires up through. I'll connect the PVC conduit to the outlet box.

Seems about right? - j
justintoo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 07:01 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 985
Rewards Points: 1,084
Default

Outdoor weatherproof outlet box wiring...


Looks like someone direct buried some rhw wire.

So, rip it out, or disconnect it tape it up and leave it.

What are you thinking about doing?

Layout and do the job like the rhw never existed.

UF or conduit with conductors.

Time to move on.


ritelec is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ritelec For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (06-13-2014), justintoo1 (06-13-2014)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
switch outlet combination phill1 Electrical 4 11-09-2013 09:57 AM
Wiring an outlet to a switch, to a light Athens Electrical 5 01-04-2012 08:03 PM
Help wiring new outlet Wnt2bsleepin Electrical 15 09-08-2011 12:53 PM
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 04:36 PM
Troubleshooting bedroom outlet wiring? Operator4819 Electrical 15 04-01-2007 09:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.