Outdoor Receptacle With Switch Inside - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2012, 02:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outdoor receptacle with switch inside


Is there any code (or other, I suppose) issue with having an outdoor receptacle that is controlled by a switch inside the house?

Advertisement

murphybad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:14 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,959
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

Outdoor receptacle with switch inside


None whats so ever!

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:43 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outdoor receptacle with switch inside


We do that all the time. Makes it easier to turn on Christmas lights and displays when you don't have to go outside to do it!
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 10:03 PM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outdoor receptacle with switch inside


the receptacle still has to be GFCI protected...either the outlet itself or the circuit. (outlet is cheaper)
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 10:19 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Outdoor receptacle with switch inside


Once my wife came home and found that a contractor who was hired by a neighbor to build a porch, was plugged into our outlet.
My wife, in no uncertain terms, took him to task, for using our power without permission.
And in no uncertain terms the contractor told her F@&%( off!
So she did, right into the house and switched off the receptacle.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 10:29 PM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outdoor receptacle with switch inside


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
and switched off the receptacle.
Fantastic....my wife would have a similar approach....except a .357 magnum would be involved......gotta love an armed woman with a Smith and Wesson..... Kudo's to your wife!!

Advertisement

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
taco sr503-4 switch jmon HVAC 53 11-12-2012 07:26 PM
Rewire a switch that controls an outlet. z00ropa Electrical 8 10-23-2012 07:00 PM
3 way switch layout has me confused crescere Electrical 5 09-08-2012 11:26 AM
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-09-2011 12:00 AM
confused on switch replacement fullpint Electrical 6 07-11-2011 09:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts