Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-12-2013, 09:59 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 53
Share |
Default

Outdoor Receptacle


I am in the process of installing 2 new 20 amp outdoor receptacles, one by the front door and one by the back door. my question is can I use a gfci in one box and come off of that with a regular receptacle in the other and still pass code. or do I need to use 2 gfci. Thanks in advance for any help.

POWER STROKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 10:14 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,241
Default

Outdoor Receptacle


You can line/load multiple outside receptacles. Don't forget the in-use (bubble) cover.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 10:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 53
Default

Outdoor Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
You can line/load multiple outside receptacles. Don't forget the in-use (bubble) cover.
Yup i forgot to add that thanks for the reply and help.
POWER STROKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 07:15 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,576
Default

Outdoor Receptacle


Where are you getting the power from?
If it's a close by inside outlet your tapping off of, concider installing the GFI in that box.
Reason being is there's less chance of faulse trips from moisture.
As expencive as wire is it may be cheaper to use two GFI instead of a long run of wire.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 07:17 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,241
Default

Outdoor Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Reason being is there's less chance of faulse trips from moisture.
Not true.

1) Moisture will affect a GFI device the same as a GFI protected receptacle.
2) If the GFI is tripping due to moisture, it is not a "false trip".
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
jbfan (04-13-2013)
Old 04-13-2013, 09:04 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 692
Default

Outdoor Receptacle


Make sure to use weather resistant outlets and GFCI's for your outdoor locations.

NEC 406.8
AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 09:10 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Outdoor Receptacle


I like to use a dead front GFCI inside and use standard weather resistant receptacles outside.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 09:16 AM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,241
Default

Outdoor Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
I like to use a dead front GFCI inside and use standard weather resistant receptacles outside.
Why? That makes no sense to me.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 09:18 AM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,078
Default

Outdoor Receptacle


Using two GFI receptacles does make it easier to reset should one of them trip.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 09:56 AM   #10
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

Outdoor Receptacle


I think it will come down to personal preference, really. If you use one gfci receptacle, any receptacle down the line will not have power when the gfci trips. If you use two independently wired gfci receptacles, only the affected gfci will be dead when it trips.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 10:10 AM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,259
Default

Outdoor Receptacle


The company I work for installs GFCI's at every location, we don't LINE/LOAD GFCI's ever.... of course, our clients can afford this luxury, and it really makes troubleshooting a breeze.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 10:31 AM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Outdoor Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
The company I work for installs GFCI's at every location, we don't LINE/LOAD GFCI's ever.... of course, our clients can afford this luxury, and it really makes troubleshooting a breeze.
I saw something like this in a house I did some work in. Had to have been at least eight just in the bathroom. They had two behind each sink in the double sink counter top and then a few more spread through the bathroom and the kitchen was huge and had to have and at least double that. I do like the idea of if one stops working it only affects one.

But eventually we will also have to deal with the whole kitchen being AFCI protected. I can imagine the calls will be crazy for troubleshooting and I don't mind taking them.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 10:33 AM   #13
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

Outdoor Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston


But eventually we will also have to deal with the whole kitchen being AFCI protected. I can imagine the calls will be crazy for troubleshooting and I don't mind taking them.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 10:47 AM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Outdoor Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle_in_rure View Post
Yup allot of changes coming in 2014. I am sure manufacturers are working on larger afci breakers so that regulations can be added to larger loads like dryers and ranges in future years. Nothing will surprise me when the government is involved.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 11:00 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,521
Default

Outdoor Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by POWER STROKE View Post
I am in the process of installing 2 new 20 amp outdoor receptacles, one by the front door and one by the back door.
Make sure you purchase weather resistant receptacles for outside.
Attached Thumbnails
Outdoor Receptacle-new-bitmap-image.jpg  

hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hammerlane For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (04-13-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.