Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2006, 11:26 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25
Share |
Default

outdoor outlets don't work.


The outlets in the front and back of the house do not work. One of the upstairs bathrooms out let won't work either. I checked the outlet in the back which has a GFCI outlet. It will not reset. When I check voltage at the wire coming into the box I get 0v between the black wire and white wire. On the other side of the outlet I get 12vac between black and white or black and ground. I measure the bare part of the wire going into a push type connect while the outlet is still connected.

Can the outlet be the problem or could it be from the breaker box? or something else?

Thanks for any help.

dbrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 02:25 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default

outdoor outlets don't work.


If you checked the wires themselves, not connected to the
outlet, the outlet cannot be at fault.

Where you measured 0V is probably going to feed another outlet.

12VAC is very low - are you sure you have the correct X10 setting
on your meter?
If this voltage is correct, you need to find out where this wire is feeding
from. Turn off the voltage to the outlet, and see what else
goes off (celing fixtures, outlets, etc). Turn the power back on, and
check each one for voltage, and correct wiring (black (smaller slit)) should read anywhere from 110-140 going to neutral (white, wider slit on outlet) and ground.

You could probably get a good feel for what is feeding your 12vac
outlet, as generally the outlet closest to the breaker will feed
all the others on the circuit. If you have a choice between two
outlets feeding, turn power off, and pulll the outlets out. Check
both sides of the outlet for voltage.

HTH

--alan

asegal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 09:50 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25
Default

outdoor outlets don't work.


Thanks Asegal. I appreciate your help.

The culprit was the GFCI outlet on the outside of the house. The front Outlet was on the same ckt as I suspected. Things weren't adding up right in my mind, so I just decided to change the front outlet and the GFCI outlet. I started with the front and it was not the problem but the old one wouldn't hold a plug very well so no loss. Then I changed the GFCI and everything worked fine.

Not sure about the 12vac I saw. I've used a meter for many years but I am not above mistakes. For $15.00 I decided it was a small risk to try it so I just went ahead and took the chance and it's a pretty easy job. I'm glad it paid off.

Thanks again for your help.
dbrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pay GC to construct home and finish it myself? L O N G . . . Badfish740 Off Topic 9 07-27-2007 08:44 AM
Am I being overcharged for general construction work? baloney12 Building & Construction 2 07-11-2007 06:09 PM
Modifying existing duct work Thurgee HVAC 3 04-05-2007 09:35 AM
is this bad tiling work? garrick Flooring 17 09-27-2006 12:30 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.