Outdoor Outlets Don't Work - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2011, 07:42 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outdoor outlets don't work


Hello!

I have two outlets outside (one in back and one in front) that do not work. The wires for each come from a single gfi located in my basement. When I tested the gfi it worked properly but when I tested the outdoor outlets it read open neutral. I opened the gfi and checked to make sure all of the wires were secure and everthing looked tight. For each connection (black, white, ground) there is one wire from the gfi crimped to two wires (one for each outlet).

The white seemed a little loss so I pulled off the old crimp and replaced it but now the outlets outside read open hot. The gfi still works but not the outlets after it. Any ideas? Should I call an electrician?

Advertisement

john620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 07:54 AM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,977
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

Outdoor outlets don't work


Turn the power off. Remove GFCI from jbox. Note and or tag load and line wires connected to GFCI. Remove wires from GFCI. Temporarily connect black to black and white to white at GFCI jbox. Restore power and check downstream receps. If the dwnstrm receps are working, cut power, reinstall GFCI, turn power back on and recheck dwnstrm receps. If not working,cut power and replace GFCI.

Advertisement

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 08:11 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outdoor outlets don't work


Thanks I will test this out tonight.
john620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 08:29 AM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,977
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

Outdoor outlets don't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by john620 View Post
Thanks I will test this out tonight.
Check the neutral splices as well at the GFCI j box.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 08:45 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outdoor outlets don't work


I also wanted to ask about the splice. Once I figure out the issue and go to put it all back together, do i have to use a crimp or can i use a wire nut? I don't have the proper tool for the crimp but would be willing to pick it up if I must.
john620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 08:49 AM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Outdoor outlets don't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by john620 View Post
I also wanted to ask about the splice. Once I figure out the issue and go to put it all back together, do i have to use a crimp or can i use a wire nut? I don't have the proper tool for the crimp but would be willing to pick it up if I must.
Nuts are fine...
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 03:08 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outdoor outlets don't work


Thanks for the help. Looks the GFI went bad. I replaced it and reconnected the crimped wires with wire nuts. Everything is working great...thanks again for the advise.

Advertisement

john620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
grounding the workpiece you're welding jarnold Electrical 41 09-08-2010 08:33 AM
Issues w/ Old Work Box mkrawitz Electrical 5 04-19-2010 12:53 PM
HVAC contractor ripoff! sekntonone HVAC 8 04-05-2008 08:15 AM
Need help with permit/city got a Stop Work Order. amdspitfire General DIY Discussions 39 02-07-2008 03:45 PM
Am I being overcharged for general construction work? baloney12 Building & Construction 2 07-11-2007 07:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts