Outdoor Outlet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2012, 02:31 PM   #1
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Outdoor Outlet


I need to install an outdoor outlet in my backyard. The only outlet I have is in the front which is useless except at Christmas.

Under my house in the barely accesable crawlspace, runs a 15a line 14ga from the panel and feeds a now destroyed (head kept hitting it) light that is capped off in the junction box, and then runs over into the kitchen to feed a non-used gas stove outlet (converted over to electric range and had a 240v put in for it).

This light junction box is about 10ft from where I need to install an outlet on the outside of the house.

Questions:

1. Can I use this line? Nothing else runs off of it. I am going to cap off the old gas stove outlet because the outlet is inaccesable for use and is just filled with dirt/cooking grease. I have no need for it.

2. My plan is to run 14/2 out to the exterior, and put a 2 gang weatherproof box with the 14/2 clamped on coming in through the back, 15a GFCI outlet and on the load side of that another outlet, and a weatherproof in use cover. The 2 gang box will be siliconed and sealed or caulked etc. Is this correct?

The outlet will be used for power tools, work lights, and a fountain at times. Plus anything else. So I need a dedicated 15a, but have no more spaces in the panel to add a new breaker.

Advertisement

seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 02:37 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,959
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

Outdoor Outlet


Sounds good.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
seansy59 (03-10-2012)
Old 03-09-2012, 02:38 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,002
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

Outdoor Outlet


I don't see any issues as long as the old circuit is grounded.

The receptacles will need to be marked WR for weather resistant and TR for tamper resistant along with being GFI protected.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
seansy59 (03-10-2012)
Old 03-09-2012, 04:50 PM   #4
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Outdoor Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Sounds good.
Excellent!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
I don't see any issues as long as the old circuit is grounded.

The receptacles will need to be marked WR for weather resistant and TR for tamper resistant along with being GFI protected.
Yup. I got those at HD before. The GFCI was the only one marked TR and WR. The basic one (Connected to load side of GFCI) was only TR. Is this a problem?
seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical , gfci , outlet


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts