Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-28-2009, 11:05 AM   #1
Member
 
WaldenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nassau, Long Island, NY
Posts: 338
Share |
Default

Outdoor lights on Kitchen Light Circuit


I know I can't pull off the kitchen plug circuits for outdoor lights (or just about anything else) but are there any restrictions to pulling off a circuit that feeds the kitchen lights? "Outdoor lights" means a spot light mounted on the house, and a couple of under-eve cans.

The current setup (if I've figured it out right ) has the outdoor lights pulled off the kitchen plug circuit, and I want to fix that. Not only because it's "wrong" but because the splice was done inside a box that didn't have a cover, and was buried in the ceiling of the kitchen (don't look at me). Since I've got the ceiling open anyway now I want to fix that part too.

WaldenL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 11:28 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,314
Default

Outdoor lights on Kitchen Light Circuit


Outdoor lighting can share the circuit with the kitchen lighting providing there is enough reserve capacity in the circuit.

Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 11:40 AM   #3
Member
 
WaldenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nassau, Long Island, NY
Posts: 338
Default

Outdoor lights on Kitchen Light Circuit


Define "reserve capacity"... do you simply mean that the circuit isn't yet at it's max. It's a 15A circuit, so that would be 15A, right? I'm no where near that. New run for kitchen lights, using CFLs and track and ceiling fan. Or is there a special "reserve capacity" for kitchens?
WaldenL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 11:52 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,314
Default

Outdoor lights on Kitchen Light Circuit


I meant that you would have the ability to run everything on the circuit without it tripping due to overload.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 12:02 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Outdoor lights on Kitchen Light Circuit


With switching to CFL's I have a lot of spare capacity on my lighting circuits
One circuit I will not load up is the one the smokes are on
I try to never connect enough fixtures to a circuit that, if they were all on, would trip the circuit

I had thought that was required by code, but was recently told it is not required by code (in a residential setting?)
Possibly required in a commercial setting....??
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 01:16 PM   #6
Member
 
WaldenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nassau, Long Island, NY
Posts: 338
Default

Outdoor lights on Kitchen Light Circuit


Great. Then I'm all set. One more wiring issue fixed. I swear, this house was wired by someone that got paid a bonus for each screwed up solution they could implement!

WaldenL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Help! 3 way switches controling 2 light fxtures. HelloMotto Electrical 50 09-01-2009 08:20 PM
Adding 15 amp light and switch on a 20 amp circuit Jzack26 Electrical 1 08-02-2009 04:02 PM
15A rated light switches/dimmers OK on 20A circuit? red86yota Electrical 3 03-01-2009 11:43 AM
Adding a light to an existing 3 way circuit rlferdig Electrical 4 09-16-2008 02:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.