Outdoor Landscape Lights...is This Possible? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2012, 06:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outdoor landscape lights...is this possible?


I would like to run @ 25 outdoor pagoda lights (15-25W bulb max) down a 500' driveway. I will be using 1/2" plastic conduit throughout for shovel protection...
I would also like to include 3 or 4 spotlights (50W max) for tree lighting.
Question:
1) What UFB gauge wire and what circuit would you recommend?
2) Would there be any juice left for receptacle? (driveway radio alert system)
Thank you.

Advertisement

ohboybills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 06:32 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

outdoor landscape lights...is this possible?


Would this be a low voltage system or 120V?

Advertisement

k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 06:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outdoor landscape lights...is this possible?


120 volts...thanks
ohboybills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 06:39 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

outdoor landscape lights...is this possible?


500' is quite the run, I'd suggest running 10-2 UF and putting the run on a 20A circuit.

Running UF in any 1/2" conduit would be a very tough pull over any sort of distance. I am going to suggest that you run a 1" PVC if you are dead set on installing a conduit.

That would include that added GFCI.

Last edited by k_buz; 03-22-2012 at 06:43 PM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 08:49 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outdoor landscape lights...is this possible?


Thanks K_Buz!
I was hoping not to have to borrow against the house to buy that much 10-2 gauge!
Bill
ohboybills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 09:01 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

outdoor landscape lights...is this possible?


I would not run uf cable.

I would use thwn and the conduit.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 09:05 AM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,239
Rewards Points: 2,388
Default

outdoor landscape lights...is this possible?


Use THWN wire in conduit. You will kill yourself trying to pull in UF.
Consider solar lights.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 11:18 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outdoor landscape lights...is this possible?


Thanks guys! This is a great forum and I appreciate your time and input.

I was going to "monkey" pull the wire in 10' sections, prior to burying.
Also, I had 500' of 14-3 UF wire laying around and was hoping to use it, since the pagoda lights were going very low watt.
Damn long driveway...
Still trying to get used to the "ice-cold" solar look
ohboybills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 12:45 PM   #9
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,239
Rewards Points: 2,388
Default

outdoor landscape lights...is this possible?


Use the 14/3 to establish 2 separate 120 v, 15 amp circuits. Your load is under 7 amps. At 500 feet 3.5 amps (splitting the load between the 2 circuits) on #14 wire has a voltage drop of a little under 10%. Should be OK for lights
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:56 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outdoor landscape lights...is this possible?


Excellent. I like that approach; thanks guys

Advertisement

ohboybills is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finding underground electric wire for driveway lights. mitch21131 Electrical 25 09-24-2012 09:52 AM
Need info on replacing 8 recessed lights in bathroom OhmZoned Electrical 1 11-07-2011 01:35 PM
Use factory fog light switch for aftermarket lights? downunder Automotive Repairs 6 07-10-2010 12:45 PM
Changing switch for lights in basement, confused on current wiring. RyanD Electrical 2 05-14-2009 09:37 PM
Adding can lights to an existing circuit TexasEd Electrical 1 06-17-2008 08:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts