Outdoor Lamp Post No Power - New Homeowner - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2012, 04:05 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 148
Rewards Points: 147
Default

Outdoor Lamp Post No Power - New Homeowner


Quote:
Originally Posted by sgip2000 View Post
The cut wire you found could be for cable TV.
That's my hope!

Advertisement

marcus118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:29 PM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,961
Rewards Points: 2,318
Default

Outdoor Lamp Post No Power - New Homeowner


Thats the way I would have done, but sometimes you scratch your head and wonder what was the other guy thinking.
Look in thw crawl space and see if you can foloow the wire from the switch.
Got a picture of the cut wire?
Does your cable/phone come into the house orver head?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 06:09 PM   #18
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Outdoor Lamp Post No Power - New Homeowner


It could be an irrigation control valve wire. Do you have a sprinkler system?

Sometimes valves are placed in remote areas, and they run a wire all the way to them. Really silly I think to run things to distant locations, but, that's how some do it.
seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:03 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 148
Rewards Points: 147
Default

Outdoor Lamp Post No Power - New Homeowner


Quote:
Originally Posted by seansy59 View Post
It could be an irrigation control valve wire. Do you have a sprinkler system?

Sometimes valves are placed in remote areas, and they run a wire all the way to them. Really silly I think to run things to distant locations, but, that's how some do it.
Ah you just sparked a thought! The yard is wired with a dog fence. Perhaps that is the stray wire.
marcus118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:07 PM   #20
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,961
Rewards Points: 2,318
Default

Outdoor Lamp Post No Power - New Homeowner


Quote:
Originally Posted by marcus118 View Post
Ah you just sparked a thought! The yard is wired with a dog fence. Perhaps that is the stray wire.
If it is cut, then it was wired for a dog fence!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 01:42 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 148
Rewards Points: 147
Default

Outdoor Lamp Post No Power - New Homeowner


went outside and found a spot in the wire where i could read the labeling. "paige 14awg containment tracer wire"

after a quick google search, here it is: http://www.petstuffwarehouse.com/dog...undarykit.aspx

so it's the dog fence wire.

now i can focus on why the lamp post isnt getting power!
marcus118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 03:21 PM   #22
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Outdoor Lamp Post No Power - New Homeowner


Take the scissors away from the dog!

__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 04:02 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pa.
Posts: 122
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Outdoor Lamp Post No Power - New Homeowner


What kind of tester are you using? Does it just lite up? Do you know if you have 120 volts present? Is anything else in the house not working? What do the other two switches do?
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 01:20 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,710
Rewards Points: 2,380
Default

Outdoor Lamp Post No Power - New Homeowner


Start by pulling the breaker !
Check both sides of switch to be sure its dead !
Dig a hole behind the pole and try to find the wires.
Which direction do they go ?
If they go back along the path,
then dig another hole beside the path 1/2 way along,
Find cable, if found, dig again near the top of the path,
You get the drift ?
Happy hunting !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 02:41 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 148
Rewards Points: 147
Default

Outdoor Lamp Post No Power - New Homeowner


Was finally able to get outside today and take apart the lamp post. I got down to the ground wires coming into the pole to test them for power. Doesn't look like they're getting anything. Here's a pic:


So I'm concluding the problem is underground :-(

Anyone have any final thoughts before I start digging????
marcus118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 05:55 PM   #26
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Outdoor Lamp Post No Power - New Homeowner


Can you back the camera up a bit so we can see both wires? I only see the nm cable, and would like to confirm that the underground wire is rated for underground use (UF cable).
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 08:05 AM   #27
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Outdoor Lamp Post No Power - New Homeowner


Quote:
Originally Posted by marcus118 View Post
I drew a little diagram to show what I'm talking about with that random cut wire on the ground by the side of the house.



I'm no electrician but wouldn't the wire from the switch be running underground along the sidewalk out to the lamp post?

I'm hoping that random cut wire has nothing to do with the lamp post
Try looking behind the bushes on the front of the house, there may be a junction box that leads to the yard light
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 10:31 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 148
Rewards Points: 147
Default

Outdoor Lamp Post No Power - New Homeowner


One thing I probably should have mentioned is that when I moved into the house, the actual light on top of the post was shattered and had no light bulb (guessing their kids threw a baseball at it). So it was exposed to rain for quite some time I would imagine.

Could this be why it's not working?
marcus118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 08:27 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pa.
Posts: 122
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Outdoor Lamp Post No Power - New Homeowner


did you ever figure out the problem?
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 08:58 AM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 148
Rewards Points: 147
Default

Outdoor Lamp Post No Power - New Homeowner


Quote:
Originally Posted by pokey View Post
did you ever figure out the problem?
Nope haven't had a chance to get back out there. Tomorrow I'm going to dig down near the foundation to find where the wire goes in the house. Perhaps there is a junction box outside the house?

Following up on my previous question, I suspect the line shorted out from water getting in the old broken lamp top. If so, what/where exactly would I need to make a repair?

Advertisement

marcus118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compressor terminal post wiring connector came apart - remnant still sticking to post justplumducky HVAC 11 07-06-2011 09:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts