Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2009, 08:34 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

Outdoor Hot Tub Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Not on a hot tub
Always an insulated ground
I can't believe a supply house doesn't have THWN
Is it an electrical supply place?
Contractor supply - you would think they have it
Not a new employee was it
I had to run to the Homey Depot to pick a few things up and I wandered over to their wire rack and found that they have 6ga stranded THHN/THWN-2. I presume the guy I talked to a the supply house (yes, it was an electrical supply house) must have been new, or nobody ever asked for it as THWN. By far the simplest, cheapest, fastest, and safest way will be to get the individuals and conduit them. Unless the inspector has something different to say tomorrow, I'll plan on that.

Appreciate all the input folks.

SteveA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 08:45 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Outdoor Hot Tub Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveA View Post
I had to run to the Homey Depot to pick a few things up and I wandered over to their wire rack and found that they have 6ga stranded THHN/THWN-2. I presume the guy I talked to a the supply house (yes, it was an electrical supply house) must have been new, or nobody ever asked for it as THWN. By far the simplest, cheapest, fastest, and safest way will be to get the individuals and conduit them. Unless the inspector has something different to say tomorrow, I'll plan on that.

Appreciate all the input folks.
He shouldn't have anything different to say. Stranded in conduit is code. Does your tub require 240V or 120/240V?

Last edited by jerryh3; 06-10-2009 at 08:58 PM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 08:58 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Outdoor Hot Tub Wiring


Electrical requirements are 240V 50Amp GFCI with 6 AWG. I'll call (probably another) supply house tomorrow and look for the right wires.
SteveA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 09:03 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Outdoor Hot Tub Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveA View Post
Electrical requirements are 240V 50Amp GFCI with 6 AWG. I'll call (probably another) supply house tomorrow and look for the right wires.
And, you do know you only need #10 for the ground.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 10:34 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Outdoor Hot Tub Wiring


I just spoke with the local inspector and he has no problem with using UF w/Ground for the entire project. He said as long as the box is properly grounded, that is more than adequate. As long as he'll accept it, I'll probably go that route for the time being as I've got easy access to affordable 6/3 UF. Everything is accessible though so that in the future I may replace the wire in the short span (5ft) of conduit going from the house to the spa.

When it comes down to it, the inspector needs to be the one satisfied I guess.
SteveA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 10:41 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Outdoor Hot Tub Wiring


The fact that the local Inspector doesn't know the proper code does not make this meet code or a safe installation.
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 04:05 PM   #22
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,778
Default

Outdoor Hot Tub Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by scuba_dave View Post
the fact that the local inspector doesn't know the proper code does not make this meet code or a safe installation.
+1 !!!!!!!
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 05:25 PM   #23
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,529
Default

Outdoor Hot Tub Wiring


Inspectors have been known to be wrong (GASP!), you know.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 05:44 PM   #24
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,389
Default

Outdoor Hot Tub Wiring


I would not install a code violation knowingly whether the inspector said it was ok or not.

Another thing, the subject of bonding the rebar or mesh in the concrete pad needs to bond to the lug with a #8.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 11:46 PM   #25
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 979
Default

Outdoor Hot Tub Wiring


You guys are ridiculous sometimes someone please give me the reasoning that an un insulated ground inside an insulted cable inside a conduit is so unsafe
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 12:33 AM   #26
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Outdoor Hot Tub Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveA View Post
I just spoke with the local inspector and he has no problem with using UF w/Ground for the entire project. He said as long as the box is properly grounded, that is more than adequate. As long as he'll accept it, I'll probably go that route for the time being as I've got easy access to affordable 6/3 UF. Everything is accessible though so that in the future I may replace the wire in the short span (5ft) of conduit going from the house to the spa.

When it comes down to it, the inspector needs to be the one satisfied I guess.

I hope that inspector is joking on that matter. C'est dingue!!(*)

There is no way in heck I will install for hot tub . spa or pool like that arrangement.

The code is very well written in there and you can not ingore it.

Merci,Marc

(* it is nuts )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 12:42 AM   #27
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Outdoor Hot Tub Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy21 View Post
You guys are ridiculous sometimes someone please give me the reasoning that an un insulated ground inside an insulted cable inside a conduit is so unsafe

The pool , spa , hot tub have very specfic code the issue is voltage graduent that is been written in the NEC code book for the last 20 some years

The other thing that I know alot of peoples try to do this route by running the UF cable in the conduit 90% of the time is a major no-no there however once it get out of the underground you can run the UF without conduit or with conduit only for protection { this part I am NOT crazy with it at all and I don't go this route at all }

There are few very well respected members they will chime in with few good choice words that they will get to the point no bullcrap around this one.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 01:30 AM   #28
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 979
Default

Outdoor Hot Tub Wiring


Does this mean you couldn't use grc?
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 05:20 AM   #29
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Outdoor Hot Tub Wiring


Sure you can use rigid, as long as you have an insulated ground in it.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 12:59 PM   #30
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 979
Default

Outdoor Hot Tub Wiring


But if you ground both sides of the pipe ět is now in parallel with your ground and 100% bare

jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 02:40 PM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 10:33 AM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 08:53 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.