Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2012, 03:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outdoor GFCI won't reset


My outdoor GFCI won't reset. Its been there several years so I know its wired correctly. It apparently tripped during during a rain storm the other day, its been raining for almost a week. Its not tripped at the breaker box and the LED on the GFCI is illuminated but it won't reset so I assume it was damaged since I can't find any other apparent cause. Should I just wait for it to try out or change it? I know how to change it but how do I know I have the electricity to it turned off at the breaker box (of course, I don't know which specific circuit breaker controls that outlet) since the outlet is already dead?

dadret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 03:55 PM   #2
Getting There
 
MecGen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Outdoor GFCI won't reset


Quote:
Originally Posted by dadret View Post
but how do I know I have the electricity to it turned off at the breaker box (of course, I don't know which specific circuit breaker controls that outlet) since the outlet is already dead?
Good chance your GFI outlet is defect, , you might want to call a serviceman.

And I am not an electrician....


Last edited by MecGen; 03-25-2012 at 09:49 AM.
MecGen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 03:58 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,148
Rewards Points: 3,090
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Outdoor GFCI won't reset


The GFCI receptacle or one of the ones it controlls probably has water in it.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 05:17 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Outdoor GFCI won't reset


What year was the house built?
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:08 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

Outdoor GFCI won't reset


On some brands of gfci, the light will come on win it is tripped, and some will come on when it is time to replace it.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 07:47 PM   #6
Hell of a fella
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Central PA
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Outdoor GFCI won't reset


if the led trip/replace light on the receptacle is on...it will turn off when you kick the breaker off for a swap-out.
DrumBum is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DrumBum For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (03-27-2012)
Old 03-23-2012, 07:55 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Outdoor GFCI won't reset


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The GFCI receptacle or one of the ones it controlls probably has water in it.
This, something plugged in to an outside outlet has a problem, or depending on the year the house was built, the bathrooms or laundry could be on that GFI as well and have something plugged in causing the problem.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 06:40 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outdoor GFCI won't reset


I figured out which breaker turns off the GFCI and I'm now sure its just a defective GFI since on the line side of the outlet (from the breaker box to the switch) I have power but nothing from the load side to the outlets beyond the GFI. When I turned off the breaker I lost power to the outlets on the line side before the outdoor GFI. SO I'll just change it and see what happens. Thanks for all your comments.
dadret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 07:26 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Outdoor GFCI won't reset


Quote:
Originally Posted by dadret View Post
I figured out which breaker turns off the GFCI and I'm now sure its just a defective GFI since on the line side of the outlet (from the breaker box to the switch) I have power but nothing from the load side to the outlets beyond the GFI. When I turned off the breaker I lost power to the outlets on the line side before the outdoor GFI. SO I'll just change it and see what happens. Thanks for all your comments.
You don't have power on the load side because the GFI is tripped. Did you take the outlet out and test the terminals? Or did you leave the GFI in and test the outlet itself?

If you are testing the terminals (on the side of the GFI) you will have power as long as the breaker is turned on. The GFI won't control those even if the GFI is tripped.

Do this, take the wires off the load side of the GFI and try resetting it. (The load side wire should be located on the top two terminals...one on each side). If the GFI holds, you have a problem down the line. If it trips you probably have a bad GFI.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 07:28 PM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Outdoor GFCI won't reset


Is this GFI controlled by a switch? If so, make sure the switch is in the on position when you try to reset it. Newer GFI's won't reset without power to it.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 08:23 PM   #11
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,148
Rewards Points: 3,090
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Outdoor GFCI won't reset


Disconnect the LOAD wires and turn the power back on. Try to reset the GFCI. If it resets then there is a fault somewhere on the load wires.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 11:45 PM   #12
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outdoor GFCI won't reset


...nd GFCI's will not reset unless there is power to them.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 07:30 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outdoor GFCI won't reset


I changed the GFI the other day and now everything works fine. Turns out that the GFI is at the end of a circuit which probably explains why the outlets in front of the switch still worked. There are no wires coming from the load side - its just a receptacle. Also, the GFI that the builder put in was not an outdoor rated outlet.

dadret is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complete ECM reset procedure ukrkoz Automotive Repairs 2 12-16-2011 08:29 PM
Water heater reset is tripping. rjniles Plumbing 7 11-24-2010 09:15 AM
Boiler needs to be reset Chris12047 HVAC 8 11-12-2008 03:28 PM
Oil burner won't kick on, have to push reset edski HVAC 4 11-06-2007 03:04 PM
GFCI wouldn't reset, now it will sherlock Electrical 4 10-18-2005 11:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.