Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-22-2010, 10:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Outdoor AC Unit Coonection


hey all,
I'm not electrician but i need to help my friend with some electrical work.
He has an outdoor AC unit that is located around 3 feet away from house. Now he run regular BX from buidling to it.. it think that is not good.

So the question is what is the proper way of connection 220V outdoor AC unit to main power line (circuit braker) I would prefer to do it in accordance to NEC.

Any recommendations. Also Im not too familiar with electrical names so if to explain me what I need and how to connect it (i mean general idea) that would be awesome!

alexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 10:44 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Outdoor AC Unit Coonection


You need to have a disconnect near the unit. Then typically I use Seal Tite from that point to the condenser unit. How you get to the disconnect depends on what path you take.

this is one style of disconnect. There are others that are less expensive:
http://www.solarpanelstore.com/solar...ct.info.1.html

and this will explain a bit about seal tite:

http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=...26tbs%3Disch:1

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 11:43 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Outdoor AC Unit Coonection


ok liquid tight conduit that is waht i had in mind.
But what is "disconnect" and what it does? I never seen it (not that i saw many electical works)

Also how should i propperly get conduit inside the house?


Thanks a lot for helping!
alexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 06:43 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,506
Default

Outdoor AC Unit Coonection


A disconnect disconnects the power so that if maintenance is being performed there is no way the unit can become energized. Basically it acts like a switch. It is installed within sight of the unit so that the worker can see if someone tries to turn the unit on.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 10:53 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Outdoor AC Unit Coonection


ok that makes sense! thatsnks a lot!
alexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get unit to turn on need electrical help please-wiring diagram included igotshocked Electrical 33 01-30-2014 05:13 AM
Ruud Pack unit "KABOOMS" upon First Light Up of the Day! Wirenut2tite HVAC 18 12-15-2012 10:11 AM
$1440+ labor only repair on 3 yr. old Goodman unit!?! JMK HVAC 23 05-06-2012 10:45 AM
AC condensing unit failure? Hotinsummer HVAC 3 08-09-2009 02:08 PM
central unit will not come on ....please help guyasc HVAC 5 08-24-2008 05:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.