DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Outbuilding wiring and underground wiring questions

7K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  jimmy21 
#1 · (Edited)
First off, I am not an electrician, so my apologies in advance for any REALLY stupid statements/question. ;-) I plan on doing research for my project, doing the grunt work, like pulling wires/cables and such, and then letting a licensed electrician review it all, make connections, and power it all up! That said, here's my situation:

I have a 200A main service in the house I bought last year. I also have a 600 SF outbuilding I plan to convert to a small shop/studio. It is about 175 feet from the main panel in the house (in the attic level, actually) The previous owner had the same idea, and already ran a couple PVC conduits from the house to the outbuilding, underground, though I don't know the depth yet. Going by memory here, one conduit is 2" diameter and one is about 3/4" diameter.

My little shop will probably have a table saw, a drill press, a disc sander, scroll saw, and radial arm saw as its main "equipment", along with some shop lighting, maybe a window mounted air conditioner, stereo system/radio, and hopefully, computer capabilities. It will be only me in this shop, so only one "tool" would be running at any one time.

My questions are: How would I determine the wire size for this load and this length of run? Would a 60A sub-panel be adequate? Is PVC conduit OK for this kind of thing, and what depth is required by code?