Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2010, 02:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

OTR Microwave -> Range hood wiring


We removed an over the range microwave that was plugged into an outlet that was hidden in the cabinet above (installed by the previous homeowners). We are now going back to a standard range hood the requires hardwiring.

Do you see any issue removing the outlet and hardwiring the range hood to the wiring from the outlet?

Thanks
A for Effort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 02:33 PM   #2
Long-Time DIYer
 
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
Posts: 1,460
Default

OTR Microwave -> Range hood wiring


Nope. Just make sure that the wires are properly wirenutted together and inside an accessible covered box.
Mike
(Not an electrician, just an old DIYer.)
Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 10:00 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 5
Default

OTR Microwave -> Range hood wiring


If the wire is long enough just get rid of the box and plug your new range direct. If the wire is not long enough, remove the outlet and use it as a junction box, then from there plug your new range hood with the same gauge wire (probably #14/2 loomex). Since the junction box has to be accessible, you could put it inside the cabinets either above or beside the range hood (I usually install the box flush-mount at the bottom of the cabinet, and put a blank cover on it), or you could also hide it behind the new range hood. By dismantling the range hood unit you would be able to gain access the the junction box, and that complies with code regulations regarding accessibility to junction boxes. What you cannot do is put the box inside the wall, behind the gypsum board.
vlatva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backdraft, Cold Air and Ice from Range Hood and Bath Fan Passion4Heels HVAC 13 08-19-2010 07:00 PM
Alternative to range hood fan Richo HVAC 2 04-11-2010 02:43 PM
Installing a range hood NewHandyman Electrical 1 08-10-2009 09:42 AM
Range hood wiring question, help!! nyc_apt_dweller Electrical 4 03-05-2009 08:34 PM
Range hood and microwave shelf install??? osueric27 HVAC 2 01-05-2009 12:01 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.