Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2009, 01:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

OTR Microwave - no power


I am wanting to put in a new OTR microwave.. There was no hood or power in the cabinet above before now. Will I need an electrician to run power to the cabinet above where I want the microwave? Or can I run something myself.. House is all electric..

rocketgirlcolor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 01:38 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,518
Default

OTR Microwave - no power


If you are asking that means you should hire an electrician.

jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 06:56 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,406
Default

OTR Microwave - no power


Your microhood will require a dedicated circuit run all the way back to your panel.

If your house is finished it may pay you to hire someone that know how to get wires installed behind drywall with minimal damage.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 05:55 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Western Ontario
Posts: 955
Default

OTR Microwave - no power


Pe Plan your ventilation requirements as well
Chemist1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 01:33 PM   #5
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

OTR Microwave - no power


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Your microhood will require a dedicated circuit run all the way back to your panel.
Code referance please.
Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 06:54 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

OTR Microwave - no power


Quote:
Code referance please.
It's there.....somewhere.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 07:23 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 14
Default

OTR Microwave - no power


By adding a microwave to a kitchen it is considered an appliance covered by the 20amp counter top appliance circuit. this circuit can be tapped and a receptical can be placed in the cabinet to power the microwave. ducting the exaust is another story, some units have the option to vent it outside with a duct or redirecting in to the kitchen in the event there isn't a duct. code on the branch circuit can be found in NEC Artical 210.
spark-451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 07:43 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

OTR Microwave - no power


Quote:
By adding a microwave to a kitchen it is considered an appliance covered by the 20amp counter top appliance circuit.
If it's sitting on the counter. This one's mounted above the range. Dedicated circuit.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 08:13 PM   #9
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,533
Default

OTR Microwave - no power


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
Code referance please.
Jamie
An OTR microwave is also a range hood that is connected by a cord and plug. 2005 NEC Article 422.16 (B)(4) says that such a range hood must have an accessible receptacle supplied by an individual branch circuit.

Instructions included with the OTR units also specify a dedicated circuit.

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTR Microwave no power rocketgirlcolor Appliances 2 02-19-2009 06:25 AM
Wring for Lincoln Power Mig Welder vstoyko Electrical 17 01-15-2009 06:15 PM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.