Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2009, 02:58 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 319
Share |
Default

OTA antenna ground


I need to understand this:

2 things needed to be grounded:

The antenna mast to a ground

Then also the signal cable RG6 into a block, and another wire on from the block going to ground, to reduce static.

But what ground? I have seen.. a minimum, 3 ft grounding rod driven new into the ground. Some say 8 ft grounding rod. Some say it needs to go all the way to the electrical service grounding rod. So what is right?

Since the antenna is closer to the back of the house, it is not practical to find the grounding rod for electrical service.

Can the ground wire go to grounding external conduit system for the back yard lights?

DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 07:30 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 127
Default

OTA antenna ground


According to 810.21(F) the grounding conductor shall be connected as follows:
(1) To the nearest accessible location on the following:
(a) The building structure grounding electrode system as covered in 250.50
(b) The grounded interior water piping system, within 5 ft. from it's point of enterance to the building, as covered in 250.52
(c) The power service accessble means external to the building, as covered in 250.94.
(d) The metallic power sevice raceway
(e) The service equipment enclosure
(f) The grounding electrode conductor or the grounding electrode conductor metal enclosure.

I would go with (a) or (b).

hpp58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 07:50 AM   #3
Chicago, IL
 
Michael Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,037
Default

OTA antenna ground












- From the article here http://ecmweb.com/mag/electric_dont_...ossed/?smte=wl (requires free registration).

The ground connection for the antenna/mast must be electrically continuous with the electrical system's ground, for example if your electrical system already has a ground rod you cannot install a second ground rod for the antenna ground unless the two rods are connected per the NEC.

---------

Home Inspection: "A business with illogically high liability, slim profit margins and limited economies of scale. An incredibly diverse, multi-disciplined consulting service, delivered under difficult in-field circumstances, before a hostile audience in an impossibly short time frame, requiring the production of an extraordinarily detailed technical report, almost instantly, without benefit of research facilities or resources." - Alan Carson


Last edited by Michael Thomas; 03-09-2009 at 07:55 AM.
Michael Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 11:15 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 319
Default

OTA antenna ground


I do have a water pipe for the backyard and that should be the best bet.

Are all the water pipes grounded (to the service ground)? How can I check?

What is that 5 feet about? That just means if there was a pipe running outside, you need to attach within 5 feet of it?

Can you use a hose clamp on the pipe to squeeze the wire in between?
DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 11:34 AM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,318
Default

OTA antenna ground


The 5 foot requirement means within that distance where it enters the house from the street.

You must use a proper grounding clamp, a hose clamp is not acceptable. Here is one style

Last edited by Jim Port; 03-09-2009 at 11:37 AM.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 12:00 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 319
Default

OTA antenna ground


oh no.. scratch that ground to plumbing idea. Looks like I need to run about 200 ft of 10 AWG copper to the front of the house, along the roof?

And you need 2 wires for it? One or the mast and one for the coax arrestor block.. but they go to the same place..
DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 12:09 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 319
Default

OTA antenna ground


so this is the instruction I found.. is this not to code because it didn't mention about the running wires to the electrical ground of the house.
Attached Thumbnails
OTA antenna ground-ground.jpg  
DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 12:32 PM   #8
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

OTA antenna ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by DIYGST View Post
so this is the instruction I found.. is this not to code because it didn't mention about the running wires to the electrical ground of the house.
No, this does not meet the code requirement for proper bonding. The pics above show what must be achieved to be safe.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 01:39 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 319
Default

OTA antenna ground


Thanks everyone it's getting more clear now..

so I decided to run
1) 10 gauge wire from the roof, all the way to the front where the service ground rod is..
2) also minimum 14 gauge wire from coaxial grounding block, at where it enters the house, to the same service ground rod.
Using 2 new clamps.

There are no length restrictions correct?

DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bonding Ground in Conduit jamiedolan Electrical 5 01-26-2010 10:14 PM
Separate ground rod for antenna? KE2KB Electrical 6 03-10-2009 11:37 AM
Ground question. mystery guest Electrical 5 07-24-2008 12:47 PM
Older home -- Open Ground issues, please help Toyz Electrical 1 06-15-2008 08:41 AM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.