OT: How Do High Voltage Lines Work? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2009, 08:56 AM   #16
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

OT: How do High Voltage Lines work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by CDH View Post
I think you are referring to a tri-plex house service which does have the bare wire neutral,the insulation is really pretty durable and if shaped properly will pose no problem to soffits etc,the one thing that you have to watch for is squirrels love to knaw the insulation off of the hotlegs, kind of ironic is'nt it Red Squirrel LOL.
Haha yeah. The reason squirrels and other rodents do this is to wear out their non stop growing teeth.

unfortunatly, not all rubber snakes have a juicy center!

Advertisement

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 09:59 AM   #17
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

OT: How do High Voltage Lines work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Jamie. Next time, count the insulating spacers between the pole and the line. I read somewhere (I think it was a quote from Tom Henry) that each individual insulator was rated at 10,000 volts. So 10 insulators would be 100,000 volts. Now, thats some serious voltage.
Hello;

Sorry for the delayed response, I've been out of the road much of this week. I did look at some poles next to 41 in Oshkosh, and they looked like they were 6 or 7 insulators. I think the large towers I saw by I-43 in south Milwaukee were even larger, with more insulators, I'll have to check those out next time I'm down there.

Thanks
Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 10:01 AM   #18
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

OT: How do High Voltage Lines work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
Went to the Hoover Dam while I was in Vegas... talk about a lot of HV... It's like entire fields full of towers:


The towers up on the hill in your photo look very similar to the ones I saw off of I-43 in South Milwaukee,WI.

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 10:11 AM   #19
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

OT: How do High Voltage Lines work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
James.,

We have bunch of 245KV lines near Appleton area and yes there is a 500 KV transmmison line run near here.

And Not too far from my home/ shop have few 134KV line as well that is transmmison and hevey local spur to one industrail customer { a chesse factory in Hollandtown }

The Forest Junction Sub station it was expanded about 2 or 3 years ago they allready more than double up the sizewise IMO almost triple of it and we have one 245 KV line came from Pullman plant { Green Bay steam turbine base load plant } that allready have larger conductor on it.

But we have few 134KV transmmison spurs to couple towns as well.

Merci,Marc
Hello Marc;

Again, I apologize for the delayed response. It's great to hear from you, as I find it very interesting to hear about whats in our area.

Is most of the Fox Cities area fed from the Pullman plant in Green Bay? I know Menahsa has run a separate power plant for years, but I have not heard of very many small towns that do.

Thanks

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 06:20 PM   #20
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

OT: How do High Voltage Lines work?


Out of curiosity how much amps would be running on a typical transmission line. As voltage goes up, amps go down, but I'm sure it's still a rather large number considering the load on there is cities worth of usage!
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 06:41 PM   #21
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,602
Rewards Points: 2,100
Default

OT: How do High Voltage Lines work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
Out of curiosity how much amps would be running on a typical transmission line. As voltage goes up, amps go down, but I'm sure it's still a rather large number considering the load on there is cities worth of usage!
Typically at least a thousand, up to a few thousand per consductor. Bundled parallel conductors allow more per circuit. The limit is usually thermal - the conductors heat up and sag too much, and the aluminum outer layer separates from the steel inner layer due to differential thermal expansion.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 09:23 PM   #22
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

OT: How do High Voltage Lines work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
Hello Marc;

Again, I apologize for the delayed response. It's great to hear from you, as I find it very interesting to hear about whats in our area.

Is most of the Fox Cities area fed from the Pullman plant in Green Bay? I know Menahsa has run a separate power plant for years, but I have not heard of very many small towns that do.

Thanks

Jamie
Yes part of the WPS Pullman plant do feed part of Appleton and Part of Oshkosh as you see they allready upgrade the transmmison line on the state road 41.

I know Menasha do have it own powerplants IIRC steam turbine gas fired unit plus they should have a peaking plant a new one few years but the deal fell thru and keep diesel unit for peaking units { there is 4 peakers thru out the city of Menasha and 3 in Appleton plus one hydrodam unit}

But there are some specfic time of day they will " import " aka buy power from other POCO's grid system when the rates are cheaper especally at nite time it more common they do that

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
Out of curiosity how much amps would be running on a typical transmission line. As voltage goes up, amps go down, but I'm sure it's still a rather large number considering the load on there is cities worth of usage!
The typical amparange useally on the transmission line will varies a bit but anywhere from 100 to 3000 amps depending on the conductor and voltage class it is on it.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 09:51 PM   #23
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

OT: How do High Voltage Lines work?


Wow that's a lot of amps, being a lineman must be a shocking experience. :p No mistakes allowed on that job for sure.

Speaking of mistakes, imagine what would happen if these guys decided to exchange tools or something.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 08:48 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,034
Rewards Points: 2,168
Default

OT: How do High Voltage Lines work?


Usually when a power company with its own generators needs to import power from "the grid" this is
needed during peak hours.

Many older colleges generated some power from a steam plant that provided the heat for the buildings. At mine,
when I was there, the power load was such that the only time the generators provided the entire load was on
winter nights (maximum steam usage and minimum power load). At that time their AC frequency control was
not accurate and when the college system went off the grid, all synchronous clocks were off by several minutes
come dawn. Various methods were experimented including having someone manually adjust the frequency all
night long to compensate. Nowadays the ratio of generated power to campus demand is such that
considerable power needs to be purchased all the time.

Advertisement

__________________
When cleaning anything including baby diapers, it is better to sweep off or scrape off as much solid and semisolid material as you can first. (1) Less cleaning fluid or detergent needs to be used, (2) Less of a mushy mess which in turn means that bleaches or disinfectants will be more effective.

Last edited by AllanJ; 08-16-2009 at 08:54 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water lines on slab toolbelt Tina Plumbing 6 05-21-2009 08:05 PM
how many trunk line and feeder lines Grandma Lewis HVAC 4 03-08-2009 07:07 PM
Will water lines freeze if placed behind insulated stud wall in basement? jpsmith Remodeling 22 03-05-2009 01:23 PM
Where are the "Carpenters" ???? wrldruler Carpentry 14 09-11-2008 08:37 AM
2 - 900w tansformers on a 15A circuit? tonyBagadonuts Electrical 19 07-20-2008 08:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts