Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2008, 08:13 AM   #16
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Share |
Default

organizing kitchen circuitry


Quote:
Originally Posted by pcampbell View Post
5) Kitchen outlets have to be GFCI. Either 15 or 20. I don't see any reason to run this as a 15 amp unless your wiring dictates that. You need to have at least 2 separate small appliance branch circuits, even if you only have 2 outlets. In short, off the top of my head, every piece of counter space needs to be within 24" of an outlet, but you can stop when you go around the sink.
SABC must be 20 AMP.

__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 04:17 PM   #17
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

organizing kitchen circuitry


Quote:
Originally Posted by pcampbell View Post
I've never seen 15 amp GFIs but apparently they exist.
Here ya go... personally I dont see why you would want a 20 amp GFI, The only thing in a residence i've seen that actually had a 20 amp cord on it was a treadmill... pretty tuff spot in the kitchen for it...

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 05:38 PM   #18
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,469
Default

organizing kitchen circuitry


Well if you live in Canada then a 20 amp circuit MUST use 20 amp T slot receptacles. It is a code requirement.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 09:24 PM   #19
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

organizing kitchen circuitry


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Well if you live in Canada then a 20 amp circuit MUST use 20 amp T slot receptacles. It is a code requirement.
Okay, but how many appliances are actually 20 amp? just curious.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 06:20 AM   #20
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Default

organizing kitchen circuitry


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Okay, but how many appliances are actually 20 amp? just curious.
I would guess not many. I have never actually used one.
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 06:40 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 410
Default

organizing kitchen circuitry


I think it would have to be a combination of like a toaster and coffee maker going at the same time ?

Our coffee maker is 1100, toaster is 1800 but thats for 4 slices. In our kitchen, these are on different circuits.

Is the perpendicular line in the 20 amp receptacle simply an identifier, or are there actually plugs that have a prong like that?
pcampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 07:49 AM   #22
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Default

organizing kitchen circuitry


Quote:
Originally Posted by pcampbell View Post
I think it would have to be a combination of like a toaster and coffee maker going at the same time ?

Our coffee maker is 1100, toaster is 1800 but thats for 4 slices. In our kitchen, these are on different circuits.

Is the perpendicular line in the 20 amp receptacle simply an identifier, or are there actually plugs that have a prong like that?
There are actually plugs that have the t blades on them, that would denote a true 20 amp appliance.
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 08:07 AM   #23
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,469
Default

organizing kitchen circuitry


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Okay, but how many appliances are actually 20 amp? just curious.
None really. But if it is a 20 amp breaker in Canada you must have the ability to plug in a 20 amp device. The T slot allows both 15 and 20 amp plugs to be inserted.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 08:25 PM   #24
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

organizing kitchen circuitry


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
None really. But if it is a 20 amp breaker in Canada you must have the ability to plug in a 20 amp device. The T slot allows both 15 and 20 amp plugs to be inserted.
I realize that... but why enforce it?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 09:22 AM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 8
Default

organizing kitchen circuitry


I have no definite idea why it is enforced. A neighbor of mine (in Ontario, Canada) recently had a rejection because a kitchen circuit looked as follows:

20 amp single pole breaker
20 amp yellow cable
20 amp T slot GFI receptacle
20 amp yellow cable
15 amp duplex receptacle

The inspector said that the second GFI had to be a 20 amp T slot. The only technical reason I can see for this is that you can plug two 10 amp loads into the 15 amp receptacle and this exceeds the rating for the device. The residential 15 amp and 20 amp receptacles appear to be identical in terms of the attachment screws, internal bus bars and break-off tab, although the stab connectors are obviously different. I suspect the difference is solely that they have not been UL tested/rated as a product.

Anyway, that's all irrelevant - it's code.
Paulustrious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 08:04 PM   #26
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,469
Default

organizing kitchen circuitry


Ontario code requires the receptacles to match the breaker. Therefore you are not permitted to put 15 amp receptacles on 20 amp circuits. It could have a 20amp T slot. It did not need to be a second GFCI. The first GFCI could have protected it if it needed protection because it was within 1m of the sink.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 04:50 PM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 8
Default

organizing kitchen circuitry


Sorry - that was a typo. I meant to say second receptacle, not second GFI. It's odd how I can re-re-read something I wrote and not notice the mistake. Then again, I don't have to. Someone else will always point it out for me...

Paulustrious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my kitchen reno - complete remodel (with concrete countertop) Knucklez Project Showcase 311 07-07-2014 05:07 PM
New floor/subfloor in kitchen. Need ideas DanBress Flooring 3 10-20-2008 08:31 PM
sagging kitchen off back of house DanBress Building & Construction 12 03-03-2008 09:20 PM
My Kitchen Floor-Problems!!! Please Help!!! Fat b Flooring 3 01-25-2007 03:21 PM
Kitchen Cabinets and Walls ththomps Remodeling 4 09-18-2006 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.