Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2013, 12:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 48
Share |
Default

Option to fitting all the wire connection on 5 gauge box


I have a 5 gauge box and I would like to know what are the option to tackle this without having all those wire fit inside or outside? How can I do this withing the code?
amb1s1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 12:27 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,311
Default

Option to fitting all the wire connection on 5 gauge box


Quote:
Originally Posted by amb1s1 View Post
I have a 5 gauge box and I would like to know what are the option to tackle this without having all those wire fit inside or outside? How can I do this withing the code?
You're gonna have to try this again. I don't know what a 5 gauge box is, nor what your question is.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 12:50 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 48
Default

Option to fitting all the wire connection on 5 gauge box


Sorry, I meant 5 gang box. I'm going to have 5 switch on this box and I think there is going to be too many cables inside it. So I think what is the best way to handle this issue.
amb1s1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 01:04 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,311
Default

Option to fitting all the wire connection on 5 gauge box


What is the size of the box?
Is it plastic, or steel?
Will you have all single pole switches, or some 3-ways, dimmers, etc.?
14 AWG or 12 AWG cable?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 03:27 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

Option to fitting all the wire connection on 5 gauge box


One trick is to just run the wires for the switches to that box. Make your other connections in a junction box or elsewhere. Like a junction box in the attic or use several junction boxes in the attic.

And use a deeper box and/or a box extension to make it deeper.

Also if you use a 5 gang plaster ring, there will be additional space as that connects to a larger box.

Be sure to use a level when installing the box. Any "tilt" will show with multiple gang boxes.

P.S. You need to go to an electrician's supply to find/order this stuff...

Last edited by Billy_Bob; 03-27-2013 at 03:29 PM.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 03:28 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 48
Default

Option to fitting all the wire connection on 5 gauge box


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
What is the size of the box?
Is it plastic, or steel?
Will you have all single pole switches, or some 3-ways, dimmers, etc.?
14 AWG or 12 AWG cable?
I'm using 14 AWG, I'm using dimmer and switches. Here is the model that I'm using:
http://www.amazon.com/Smarthome-2477...insteon+switch

Here is the box that I'm using:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/2033434...1#.UVNVwqWuiMU
amb1s1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 03:35 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 48
Default

Option to fitting all the wire connection on 5 gauge box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy_Bob View Post
One trick is to just run the wires for the switches to that box. Make your other connections in a junction box or elsewhere. Like a junction box in the attic or use several junction boxes in the attic.

And use a deeper box and/or a box extension to make it deeper.

Also if you use a 5 gang plaster ring, there will be additional space as that connects to a larger box.

Be sure to use a level when installing the box. Any "tilt" will show with multiple gang boxes.

P.S. You need to go to an electrician's supply to find/order this stuff...
I like the idea of the junction box. So I would have the wire from the breaker end on the Junction Box and then have the 5 cables from the 5 switches connect to the main cable on the Junction Box. Then, I have just 5 wire entring the 5 gang box.
amb1s1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 03:58 PM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,234
Default

Option to fitting all the wire connection on 5 gauge box


You will have no problem concerning wire fill assuming:

power in
power out
5 switch legs

You will have room to spare.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 06:23 PM   #9
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,673
Default

Option to fitting all the wire connection on 5 gauge box


Quote:
Originally Posted by amb1s1 View Post
I like the idea of the junction box. So I would have the wire from the breaker end on the Junction Box and then have the 5 cables from the 5 switches connect to the main cable on the Junction Box. Then, I have just 5 wire entring the 5 gang box.

I do not like the idea of junction boxes. No reason to add more possible trouble points to a circuit. Wired properly you should have no trouble wiring 5 switches/dimmers in a 5 gang box.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
Billy_Bob (03-27-2013), frenchelectrican (03-27-2013), Jim Port (03-27-2013), Speedy Petey (03-27-2013)
Old 03-27-2013, 06:39 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

Option to fitting all the wire connection on 5 gauge box


Quote:
Originally Posted by amb1s1 View Post
I like the idea of the junction box. So I would have the wire from the breaker end on the Junction Box and then have the 5 cables from the 5 switches connect to the main cable on the Junction Box. Then, I have just 5 wire entring the 5 gang box.
Right. Also junction boxes have an advantage that there are no switches or outlets which need to be "stuffed" in there. So plenty of room.

Light fixtures also have this advantage. They usually sit flush with the box and do not take up room inside the box. So you could also make connections at a light fixture instead of the switch box.

And you don't need one junction box for everything. You can use several if you wish. Just so they are accessible like in an attic.

These can come in handy later for troubleshooting or adding additional things to a circuit.

I've never had trouble with any electrical connections in a junction box because I twist the wires first (using electrician's pliers), then firmly twist on the wire nuts. Nothing comes loose.

Last edited by Billy_Bob; 03-27-2013 at 06:41 PM.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 06:50 PM   #11
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,673
Default

Option to fitting all the wire connection on 5 gauge box


A properly sized switch or receptacle box, does not require wire be stuffed into the box. Folded back in the correct manner, they will fit fine.

Who wants to be crawling around in a hot attic looking for a junction box.

The use of a bunch of unnecessary junction boxes is amateurish.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
Billy_Bob (03-27-2013), brric (03-27-2013), Jim Port (03-27-2013), Speedy Petey (03-27-2013)
Old 03-27-2013, 07:24 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,681
Default

Option to fitting all the wire connection on 5 gauge box


I would have split them up. I DO NOT like anything bigger than a 4-gang box. Once you get over 4-gang plates get really difficult to find.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (03-27-2013)
Old 03-27-2013, 07:46 PM   #13
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,063
Default

Option to fitting all the wire connection on 5 gauge box


If the box is plastic it will have the maximum number of conductors allowed in it on the back. If metal the code will have a chart for fill.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 11:05 PM   #14
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Option to fitting all the wire connection on 5 gauge box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
I would have split them up. I DO NOT like anything bigger than a 4-gang box. Once you get over 4-gang plates get really difficult to find.
For the readers you may noticed why Speedy Petey mention that due anytime you pass more than 4 gang switch boxes the issue is the switch plate cover it will get more harder to find and the cost as well so normally I useally split it it look better and easier to deal with it.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 wire to 4 wire generator connection possible? jws3 Electrical 30 11-28-2012 07:39 PM
Wire Gauge and Circuit Breakers Red Truck Electrical 21 01-21-2012 06:33 AM
10 Gauge wire with 30amp circuit and Baseboard Heat? RocketManZ Electrical 4 12-17-2011 12:19 PM
What gauge wire for 100 ft run? philesq Electrical 6 07-19-2011 10:50 PM
What size ground wire should I use for 8 gauge power dxmullin Electrical 1 07-06-2011 02:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.