Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-07-2013, 11:59 PM   #1
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Opinions on Tandem Breakers


I was wondering if anyone has opinions on tandem breakers..
I know the issue of shared neutrals comes up, but apart from that are they just as safe as regular/full sized breakers? Are there circuits that they shouldn't be used on? I've used a couple where needed, and have also seen an all-tandem 100 amp service (Surprise, it was in a mobile home)

Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 12:03 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Opinions on Tandem Breakers


As long as the panel is rated to take tandem breakers

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 12:05 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Opinions on Tandem Breakers


Personally, I don't like `em.

As for shared neutrals, most of the time, using a tandem on a multi-wire circuit is not proper installation protocol:

Many times, I have encountered a tandem breaker feeding a multi-wire circuit, it was incorrectly installed resulting in an overloaded neutral.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 12:18 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Opinions on Tandem Breakers


I installed a 20 space 40 circuit panel and ended up using quite a few tandems. But only think I notice is that the panel seems a little cramped with wires because it's smaller.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 12:20 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Opinions on Tandem Breakers


I don't mind to use the tandem breakers only if they are listed in the panel and you have to becarefull with MWBC espcally this is true with GE breakers they are famous for this one if not carefull.

Single circuits that is not a issue.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 12:24 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Opinions on Tandem Breakers


Yeah I like that my panel does not take up as much room as a 40 space panel would have. It's a mess because it was a rush to get back in our home someday I would like to straighten out some of the wires but not too big of a deal right now.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 12:58 AM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL near Orlando
Posts: 227
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Opinions on Tandem Breakers


I think tandems and quads have a higher failure rate than full size. Full size dissipates heat better. Pack in the tandems and the whole panel runs hotter. And do old work on a circuit, or replace a breaker, and many times you should be using an arc fault. I don't think they're ever going to make tandem arc faults.
Glennsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 06:53 AM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 511
Rewards Points: 284
Default

Opinions on Tandem Breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
I installed a 20 space 40 circuit panel and ended up using quite a few tandems. But only think I notice is that the panel seems a little cramped with wires because it's smaller.

Wow, quite a few code violations in that installation.

Mark
__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 07:25 AM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Opinions on Tandem Breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennsparky View Post
And do old work on a circuit, or replace a breaker, and many times you should be using an arc fault. I don't think they're ever going to make tandem arc faults.
You DO NOT need to install arc-faults if you replace a breaker.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 07:36 AM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Opinions on Tandem Breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
You DO NOT need to install arc-faults if you replace a breaker.
...yet...
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 07:41 AM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Opinions on Tandem Breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
...yet...
Bite yer tongue.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
jbfan (02-08-2013), rrolleston (02-08-2013)
Old 02-08-2013, 09:21 AM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,922
Rewards Points: 2,240
Default

Opinions on Tandem Breakers


Who knows what's coming in the future!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 09:22 AM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Opinions on Tandem Breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by busman View Post
Wow, quite a few code violations in that installation.

Mark
Please let me know so I can fix them? With code reverences so I can learn why in the code book.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.

Last edited by rrolleston; 02-08-2013 at 09:27 AM.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 09:39 AM   #14
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 511
Rewards Points: 284
Default

Opinions on Tandem Breakers


1. There is a white wire attached to the ground bar.

2. The 8 black/red conductors aren't marked with the type. If they are part of a cable assembly, where are the EGCs?

3. The 200A CB is marked as Service Disconnect, but it is served by a 4-wire cable.

4. There appear to be circuit breakers that are not Siemens in the panel.

5. Depending on the wire size, the 8 red/black cables may be overfused and/or exceed the conduit fill limits.

Mark
__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to busman For This Useful Post:
rrolleston (02-08-2013)
Old 02-08-2013, 09:54 AM   #15
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Opinions on Tandem Breakers


I can imagine a tandem arc-fault breaker would be bigger than the AFCIs that are already almost too large to fit in the panel.....

Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GE Panel - Breakers - Tandem or Slim? TBrown1 Electrical 12 06-05-2012 08:42 PM
My 125A Square D HomeLine will not accept tandem breakers brons2 Electrical 3 11-01-2010 12:49 PM
SQUARE D TANDEM 15A SP Breakers 57_Hemi Electrical 6 07-31-2010 12:02 AM
Can I install tandem breakers to stop my breakers from tripping? sofakng Electrical 1 04-29-2009 02:44 PM
Sub-Panel or Tandem Circuit Breakers? dgoldsmith Electrical 2 03-08-2008 01:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.