Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2012, 08:16 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 112
Share |
Default

Opinions on expanding foam around outlets and switches


Has anyone done it and are you satisfied with the results? My outlets and switches are quite drafty and I am thinking of taking this step to cut down on that.

I have several cans of minimal expanding foam sitting around doing nothing anyways....haha.
Michaelpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 08:23 PM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Opinions on expanding foam around outlets and switches


Pull out one of your switches or outlets and see if it's insulated BEHIND the box. If it is then use your foam to finish the perimiter. If that doesn't work you can buy those foam gaskets to put at the receptacle / switches. Those do work well, but foam insulation can't hurt.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 08:59 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,943
Default

Opinions on expanding foam around outlets and switches


I did that around mine, including putting 3m Window film over some windows in my living room, and it has helped. My furnace does not cycle that much, as it did before I did the foam around the outlets and windows.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 10:22 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 112
Default

Opinions on expanding foam around outlets and switches


Did you guys use the normal foam like the stuff from Greatworks, or a latex based foam?

I've read that latex isn't as flammable as the polyurethane based foams. Does this really matter if it is going outside of the electrical boxes?
Michaelpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring multiple outlets, switches and lights Bubski27 General DIY Discussions 3 11-09-2011 06:54 AM
switches and outlets kitty5568 Electrical 1 03-15-2011 11:31 PM
Replaced some switches and outlets, now some lights don't work DWooderson Electrical 3 02-02-2010 12:06 PM
Replaced outlets, now wall switches don't work? PittsburghPaul Electrical 3 08-09-2009 05:50 PM
replacing old outlets and switches Nailpounder Electrical 7 04-28-2008 09:36 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.