Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-11-2009, 10:59 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Opinion on new service entrance run


I'm in the midst of upgrading my service from 100 amp to 200 amp... my new load center is about 6 feet from the old one. My current meter is inside. I'm trying to at as much done as possible before I call the elec company to come out and kill the power to make the final connections. I'm going to move my meter outside, and have a couple of choices as to which route to run new service entrance line.

I think I'm leaning more toward option 1. But just wanted to be sure that there isn't any obvious problem with my basic layout. My city is on NEC 2008. According to docs on the elec company site, I have to install the meter at least 3 feet away from existing windows (which this new location will be).

Should I go through the trouble of conduit? Or would the standard SEU/SER type cable be sufficient. The new entrance to the home would be somewhere in the vicinity of where the blue and red lines meet along the bottom of the picture.

Also, I'm going to have to put a new hole in the side of my house to bring the new line in. What would be the best way to seal that hold back up? Can I just mortar around the cable, should I use some kind of expanding foam?
Attached Thumbnails
Opinion on new service entrance run-img_0261_2.jpg   Opinion on new service entrance run-img_0261.jpg  

philipjcaputo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 11:04 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Opinion on new service entrance run


I would go a little further up the gable & then go straight down to the old entrance point
That will avoid that odd little jog at the top
Further back from the corner looks better IMO

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 11:09 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Opinion on new service entrance run


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I would go a little further up the gable & then go straight down to the old entrance point
That will avoid that odd little jog at the top
Further back from the corner looks better IMO
I agree, it would be nicer for the connect to be closer to the top of the root peak... but I have to be 3 feet from any window (and 12 feet above the ground) where the connection between my service entrance line and the power company's line.
philipjcaputo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 04:23 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,139
Default

Opinion on new service entrance run


Call the inspector and the power company and see where they want the service point. That is usually done around here before doing a service, better to have them on your side before doing all the work.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 06:23 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Default

Opinion on new service entrance run


yes, call POCO. It'll be a free call and they'll come out and give you input on what they are looking for.

Same thing with the inspector, they do free consulting in your county.
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 07:58 PM   #6
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 188
Default

Opinion on new service entrance run


Use the spot closest to the front, go straight up, drill a hole through the overhand and use a neoprene roof jack (boot). That way you can get your elevation above the roof line.


[IMG]file:///C:/Users/Dolores/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot-1.png[/IMG][IMG]file:///C:/Users/Dolores/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot-2.png[/IMG]
Jupe Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 09:11 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Opinion on new service entrance run


Try to keep the new service drop as straight and neat as possible.

You can put it on the other side of the point of attanchment, as long as the conductors reach, it should not matter!

Here is my suggestion:
Attached Thumbnails
Opinion on new service entrance run-service2.jpg  
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 10:59 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Opinion on new service entrance run


Can you have it installed underground? They (POCO) did mine for free. Never make a hole in the roof unless you have too. If you have the clearance stay below the roof.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 01:09 PM   #9
still remodelling....
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 57
Default

Opinion on new service entrance run


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Can you have it installed underground? They (POCO) did mine for free. Never make a hole in the roof unless you have too. If you have the clearance stay below the roof.
Wow - wish I could have had mine moved underground for free! ComEd wanted to charge 'up to $3000' for them to do it, or reduced if I did some of the ground work (trenching, laying conduit), but would still have charged a min of $1200 for transferring from above ground to below ground.

Just last week I upgraded from 100A to 200A, chose to move service entrance point clear across to the other side of house (the service mains were sagging way to close to ground and were cutting across the yard). Now the lines are tight, going along my property line, and the ComEd work was free (there's a small story to that one, but otherwise they wanted to charge $500 for it).

Interesting thread... I'd say if you don't need to, keep the work as simple as possible. Don't complicate it for the sake of complicating it. Also, once it's all said and done and a few months/years go by - you'll never really notice either option A or B. "K.I.S.S."

Eusibius2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 01:23 PM   #10
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

Opinion on new service entrance run


They charge by the foot here also!
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 02:57 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Bay, Onterrible
Posts: 74
Default

Opinion on new service entrance run


This should be sealed with Duct Seal Putty I would think. That's what sparky's seal every hole they drill with!

Salem747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rewire 200A service entrance OffRoadAudio Electrical 4 08-24-2009 02:27 PM
Underground service entrance cable requirements. kgt55 Electrical 9 06-22-2009 06:55 AM
Service entrance dcwestcott Electrical 3 03-09-2009 06:11 PM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 10:31 AM
Melted Service Entrance Wire in Panel theatretch85 Electrical 13 08-22-2008 10:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.