Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-24-2012, 04:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

operate wlder using generator


I recently bought a 6500watt generator, and I was hoping to run my welder off it. However the plug-in required is a 50amp 230volt 3 prong plug, with a 40amp super lag breaker. The plug-in on the generator is a 4 prong 120/240Volt 30amp locking plug-in.

Would any one know how I could make a cheater wire, turning the 4 prong plug on the generator into a 3 prong plug for the welder, WITHOUT leaving any excess wires hanging (making a jumper)?
Is it possible to change the breaker on the generator?

timtayler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 05:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 90
Default

operate wlder using generator


Yes, you could do all of that, but it doesnt change the fact that the generator is too small for your welder and will mostly likely stall the first time you fire up the welder.

Auger01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 05:06 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

operate wlder using generator


well there's no legal way to do this really, plus there's the fact that your 6500w genny only puts out 28A. I think your up the proverbial creek. What's the welders actual draw.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 12:52 AM   #4
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,462
Default

operate wlder using generator


You'll only be able to run the welder at far below its maximum current. Like, probably less than half. If that's not good enough then you'll need a bigger generator.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator & Interlock Kit Float the Neutral? Arnold Ziffel Electrical 12 01-13-2013 05:28 PM
A discussion on the Proper grounding for portable generators Stubbie Electrical 41 07-05-2012 10:15 PM
Generator connection Question - Final Plan Apollo67 Electrical 24 01-30-2012 07:44 PM
B&S Generator with Connecticut Electric Xfer Switch Rick5150 Electrical 19 01-20-2011 10:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.