Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2012, 09:00 PM   #16
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Share |
Default

open neutral on dryer...dryer won't work


OP does not have a meter?....

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:04 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,088
Default

open neutral on dryer...dryer won't work


ok i am confused it is a 240 circuit so if an open neutral is the problem then how does a 10-2 with ground work with my new maytag maxima and on my hot water heater which has a 10-2 also

i would do what code5 suggested and check each leg to ground and and together to see if you get 240


also is the plug connected correctly into dryer side that would be my guese
jaydevries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:05 PM   #18
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,889
Default

open neutral on dryer...dryer won't work


Again it depends on how its wired internally,most electric water heaters have no 120v loads
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:05 PM   #19
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

open neutral on dryer...dryer won't work


If using a new dryer with a three wire cord the ground and neutral must be bonded at the dryer for it to work right.

Last edited by rrolleston; 02-19-2012 at 09:11 PM.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:07 PM   #20
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,889
Default

open neutral on dryer...dryer won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
If using a new dryer with a three wire cord the hot and neutral must be bonded at the dryer for it to work right.
Do you mean ground/neutral?
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:07 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,088
Default

open neutral on dryer...dryer won't work


you mean ground and neutral if i bonded hot to neutral i would get dead short
jaydevries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:08 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Default

open neutral on dryer...dryer won't work


Stubbie and Hawkeye,

You both answered my question (regarding motor and lights vs. element). Thanks. That explains why the unit wouldn't come on at all even though it had the 240 coming in, open neutral. The only thing I can't figure out is, if the homeowner was telling me the truth, how their previous dryer worked if the circuit was in the same condition (open neurtral). Well, at any rate, I think the homeowner is not telling me the complete truth, and I think something must be hinky within the circuit, maybe a damaged wire or something..maybe even something from the panel to the meter.
inspectorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:08 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,088
Default

open neutral on dryer...dryer won't work


plummen types faster than me lol
jaydevries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:09 PM   #24
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,889
Default

open neutral on dryer...dryer won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by jaydevries View Post
plummen types faster than me lol
I only use 1 finger!
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:12 PM   #25
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

open neutral on dryer...dryer won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
Do you mean ground/neutral?
Yes I better go to bed I can't think anymore. Spent my day fighting with wire on my sub panel.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
plummen (02-19-2012)
Old 02-19-2012, 09:16 PM   #26
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

open neutral on dryer...dryer won't work


Since the lights came on and then went out makes me wonder what could have happened due to the open neutral.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:17 PM   #27
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,877
Default

open neutral on dryer...dryer won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Yes I better go to bed I can't think anymore. Spent my day fighting with wire on my sub panel.
Isn't that 4/0 fun ....
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:23 PM   #28
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

open neutral on dryer...dryer won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Isn't that 4/0 fun ....
That stuff is brutal. I am really happy I did not 4x 4/0 like someone at the supply house suggested. Thanks to help from everyone here that replied and after verifying it was legal I stepped down the hot and neutral.

I don't mind the stuff if it's just a straight run but all those elbows and LB's were rough. So happy to be done with that part.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:25 PM   #29
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,877
Default

open neutral on dryer...dryer won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by inspectorman View Post
Stubbie and Hawkeye,

You both answered my question (regarding motor and lights vs. element). Thanks. That explains why the unit wouldn't come on at all even though it had the 240 coming in, open neutral. The only thing I can't figure out is, if the homeowner was telling me the truth, how their previous dryer worked if the circuit was in the same condition (open neurtral). Well, at any rate, I think the homeowner is not telling me the complete truth, and I think something must be hinky within the circuit, maybe a damaged wire or something..maybe even something from the panel to the meter.
Some things to look for ...

Is the wiring the same type at the dryer receptacle and the circuit breaker panel. If not then a junction box is somewhere. Or there might be one anyway.

Get a volt meter hot to ground should be same (120 volts) as hot to neutral as long as there is nothing else operating on the branch circuit other than the dryer.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:33 PM   #30
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,877
Default

open neutral on dryer...dryer won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
That stuff is brutal. I am really happy I did not 4x 4/0 like someone at the supply house suggested. Thanks to help from everyone here that replied and after verifying it was legal I stepped down the hot and neutral.

I don't mind the stuff if it's just a straight run but all those elbows and LB's were rough. So happy to be done with that part.
Yeah it can take some real ingenuity when you work alone and no help. I don't generally like LB's unless they are being used to go thru a wall and the panel is very close after that. Some times it helps to use adapters and upsize the LB to the next size.

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unused ground lead as neutral? ramatsu Electrical 13 01-10-2012 07:44 PM
Another dryer/plug question STEVE IN OC Electrical 16 12-23-2008 09:58 AM
dryer timer auto cycles don't work mikedudl Appliances 6 04-29-2008 07:48 PM
It serves me right - now my dryer won't work Leah Frances Appliances 3 04-29-2008 02:42 PM
Hot / Ground Reversed & Open Neutral Shirtpocket Electrical 16 06-05-2007 01:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.