Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-25-2013, 10:11 PM   #16
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Open grounds 6 recepticals.


Do you have a ground wire in the receptacle box from the panel? A wire from the ground screw to a metal box isn't a ground if the box isn't grounded.

jbberns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 10:20 PM   #17
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,089
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Open grounds 6 recepticals.


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post

Do you have any valid earths in the house at all ?
An open neutral is a pretty easy diagnostic, especially when all his surge protection devices burst into flames...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Stubbie (02-25-2013)
Old 02-25-2013, 11:02 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Open grounds 6 recepticals.


jbberns
2 boxes had a loose ground wire, and I re-attached them to th ground screw. The ground wires are going to the metal boxes too from the panel.
commanche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 11:16 PM   #19
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Open grounds 6 recepticals.


did you figure out which one was first?
jbberns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 11:32 PM   #20
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,012
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Open grounds 6 recepticals.


Quote:
Originally Posted by commanche View Post
I have found 6 receptacles on the same circuit, all of them open ground. I have rechecked the grounds and commons in the main panel, and actually tightened all of them again. Didn't find anything amis at the main box. Two of the recep boxes did not have grounds, so I fixed them, and actually replaced all 6 receptacles. Still have the issue. I checked every switch that we have and nothing appears to be on that circuit. It is all receptacles so far. Is that normal? I even checked all of the motion sensor lights , and nothing included in my circuit.


Any ideas out there? Even though the breaker has not tripped - could it have gone bad?

Could any other circuit be involved?

The breaker has nothing to do with an open ground other than it won't trip on a ground fault if one occurs at one of those receptacles.


Quote:
I checked the earth ground, found it loose - thought we had it. But no change. If it was a loose earth ground wouldn't it effect all of my circuits and not just one?
It wouldn't effect any of them ...the earth ground has nothing to do with your problem of an open ground on one of your branch circuits.

Why do you think it would?

The simple matter is your equipment grounding wire is open somewhere, my guess is you are missing something that is on the circuit or a junction box.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 02-25-2013 at 11:41 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Stubbie For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (02-25-2013)
Old 02-26-2013, 04:13 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,497
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Open grounds 6 recepticals.


Is there an earth wire that runs thru the wall to all
of these outlets ?
Does it look like it runs back to the panel ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 05:09 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Open grounds 6 recepticals.


- Yes there are ground wires there in the box - 2 of which were off the ground screw. I re-attached them and no change. Every receptacle box i found on the circut shows open ground.
- The ground wire for thta circuit is at the panel and connected.
- I think the guy from Austrailia asked about the earth ground, and I though he meant the ground rod. (a mere misinterpretation).
- I turned off the breaker and went on a search of boxes, and I only found 6, and no light switches are effected.
commanche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 07:54 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,497
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Open grounds 6 recepticals.


So if there is an earth wire thru the circuit,
And it appears to not work,
Then it must be open circuit somewhere,
So you can now do one of two things !
Trace the wire back, checking all joints,
and testing for continuity of each section.
Yes it will be hard work, but is needed.

Or consider running a new earth wire from
the circuit to the panels earth buss.
(not the earth stake).

But you need to know what code requirements
are for your area and to keep to them.

There's no real short cuts left for you to do !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 08:14 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Open grounds 6 recepticals.


Stubbie you mentioned not liking to depend on these circuit testers. Is it possible that it can show an open ground on all of the receptacals in this one circuit, but then show good in the rest of the house, because the tester is malfunctioning? This house was built in the 60s, and has a few older wires still there. In fact I can tell at the panel that it is one of the older ones.
commanche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 08:24 PM   #25
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,012
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Open grounds 6 recepticals.


I don't like these ...


Odds are that it is correct but I would rather use a voltage tester measuring from hot to ground ... should be around 120 volts. If zero volts an open exists in the circuit.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 08:30 PM   #26
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,012
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Open grounds 6 recepticals.


Quote:
Originally Posted by commanche View Post
Stubbie you mentioned not liking to depend on these circuit testers. Is it possible that it can show an open ground on all of the receptacals in this one circuit, but then show good in the rest of the house, because the tester is malfunctioning? This house was built in the 60s, and has a few older wires still there. In fact I can tell at the panel that it is one of the older ones.
I doubt it, the tester is likely correct you have an open ground.

Find your breaker for this circuit, trace the wire connected to it to where it joins the neutral wire leaving the panel ... is there a bare equipment ground also ? Don't go sticking your fingers around blindly in that panel.

Your panel is in a time period that someone may have extended an ungrounded circuit.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 08:40 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Open grounds 6 recepticals.


Yes there is and it appears to be twisted around with other grounds, then screwed to the panel.
commanche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 08:47 PM   #28
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,012
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Open grounds 6 recepticals.


Quote:
Originally Posted by commanche View Post
Yes there is and it appears to be twisted around with other grounds, then screwed to the panel.
What do you mean screwed to the panel ?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 08:49 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Open grounds 6 recepticals.


stubbie - I do not own a voltage meter, however I do have a 2 wire tester that checks for the prescense of voltage. i noticed when i go across from hot to common I have a strong light, but when I go from the ground to the hot it stll lights up but it is dimmer. Don't know if that helps at all.
commanche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 08:53 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Open grounds 6 recepticals.


dmxtothemax - my panel is in my garage , and all of the ceiling and walls have drywall on them making for not easy wire tracing. Do you have a treick to use?

commanche is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to best filter water for open loop geothermal Jim S. HVAC 6 07-05-2012 04:12 PM
Open pressure switch on furnace Dale0202 HVAC 4 01-26-2011 10:35 PM
Keeping Door Propped Open dgreco3917 Carpentry 6 09-29-2009 09:19 PM
Several open grounds gordyPA Electrical 5 06-25-2009 10:24 AM
New ball valve leaking half open? sz8 Plumbing 5 01-05-2007 10:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.