Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-26-2011, 08:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

open ground power loss


I have 5 outlets on one circut and 5 on another with all 10 on a split breaker. 5 out of the 10 do not have an open ground but they all are reading 108v. The other five out of the ten replaced are reading open ground. I am not an electric person by trade. I am confused and frustrated. HELP

scooter91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 08:42 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

open ground power loss


Quote:
Originally Posted by scooter91 View Post
I have 5 outlets on one circut and 5 on another with all 10 on a split breaker. 5 out of the 10 do not have an open ground but they all are reading 108v. The other five out of the ten replaced are reading open ground. I am not an electric person by trade. I am confused and frustrated. HELP
What are you using that says you have an open ground?
Split breaker - is this two breakers next to each other with a tie so they both operate together?
You have a meter so test all the receptacle and see what volt level you have.
How old is the house?

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 08:00 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,862
Default

open ground power loss


You can have a bad neutral that in turn can cause damage to electronics (televisions, computers, microwaves, etc.) Unplug all electronics until you find and fix the problem or have a circuit that holds steady at about 120 volt to plug the electronicds into. Does the 108 volts change depending on what appliances you are using (means a bad neutral)? Are any receptacles reading the correct 120 volts at the same time some reading 108 volts (problem is inside your house as opposed to possibly out on the utility pole)? Are some outlets reading well above 120 volts (definitely a bad neutral somewhere)?
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 09-27-2011 at 08:02 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 08:42 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Default

open ground power loss


I bought one of those three pronged testers that have the 2 amber lights an a red light. My multi meter shows all ten of these outlets at 108v. the rest of the house is at 120v. The house is only 11 yrs old.
scooter91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 09:13 AM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

open ground power loss


Quote:
Originally Posted by scooter91 View Post
I bought one of those three pronged testers that have the 2 amber lights an a red light. My multi meter shows all ten of these outlets at 108v. the rest of the house is at 120v. The house is only 11 yrs old.
If the rest of the house shows 120 V then you have this Multiwire Branch Circuit wired incorrectly somewhere.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 11:05 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Default

open ground power loss


Before I left for work I checked a couple of other outlets and they showed 114-117v. All circuts have been checked and they are all fine. All of my large appliances like water heater and washer dryer wont even work anymore.
scooter91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 11:11 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,688
Default

open ground power loss


Quote:
Originally Posted by scooter91 View Post
Before I left for work I checked a couple of other outlets and they showed 114-117v. All circuts have been checked and they are all fine. All of my large appliances like water heater and washer dryer wont even work anymore.
Now it is time to call the power company to check the incoming power!

You may have lost a leg of your service.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
scooter91 (09-27-2011)
Old 09-27-2011, 11:16 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Default

open ground power loss


I will call thanks

scooter91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fried electronics after earth ground accidentally disconnected oukachiru Electrical 7 07-12-2011 03:05 PM
partail power loss in house day after storm katmar Electrical 2 07-18-2010 06:53 PM
Loss power To my Outlets. imfocused Electrical 5 07-17-2010 11:19 PM
gfis w open ground brokenhammer Electrical 3 03-24-2010 08:37 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.