Open Ground Issue - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2011, 09:54 PM   #16
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Open Ground Issue


I agree with Greg that is pretty much standard for me to wire up the home like that the bedroom receptale and luminaires on the same circuit in stateside however in France it kinda toss up depending on the circuit genrally the receptale will be it own 16 amp circuit { few area will allow lights on this circuit as well } with RCD and few other spots I keep the receptale and lighting circuit seperated due our lighting circuits are at 10 amp


And pay attertion this part some location will required AFCI protection when you upgrade the service or extend the exsting circuit.

Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 10:01 PM   #17
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Open Ground Issue


Marc, I only broke my bedroom circuits down with separate for the outlets, due to we used to have to use Window AC units in them, before we got the central ac. This will change here very shortly next spring, when I pull those two circuits back into the lighting circuit, and get rid of the bx that runs from that junction box to the breaker panel. That will give me two extra breaker slots, which I need, due to I am redoing the garage feed to 220, not 110 as I currently have it.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (09-03-2011)
Old 09-03-2011, 10:06 PM   #18
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Open Ground Issue


Greg.,

Merci for get the facts straghten out and if you going to get rid the BX but need some type of protection just go with MC { metal clad } they are easier to deal with it due it have seperated grounding conductor instead be including in the shell of the old BX cable.

Just don't go super crazy and hurt your back on that.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 10:10 PM   #19
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Open Ground Issue


Everything that I have done with the wiring is all Romex feeding back to the panel, with the exception of that one circuit, which I did not do, when we redid the bath. As for hurting my back, that will probably happen in the Spring, when we tear up the floor in the Kitchen to finish the remodel, that has been put off pretty much this year.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (09-03-2011)
Old 09-03-2011, 10:46 PM   #20
Newbie
 
kicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bonita Springs, FL
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Open Ground Issue


I'd read a few things, on here and on line in general I think that seemed to indicate people tended to prefer lights on a separate circuit than receptacles, that way if the breaker tripped you still had lights to see with to go reset it. Didn't really know what was standard practice, but always thought that was a good idea. My father did that when he re-wired my parent's house for the same reason so I was sort of pre-disposed to that line of thinking anyway.

For me it's probably not as big of deal. The breaker box is in the garage and the living room/garage lights are on their own circuit so only the bedrooms would go dark. At my parent house it was a different story though, their box was in the basement in a room with no windows so if the breaker tripped and killed the lights it would have been pitch black down there. Not fun lol.

I'd have to do reading code wise, in my mind though I thought it might be nice if I did re-wire to have all three bedroom lights + the hallway lights on one circuit. Original I thought of having a separate circuit for each room's plugs too but probably not necessary. I have a lot of computer equipment in the office room which I thought was using up more juice than it actually was. Got a watt meter to see how much it's actually drawing and all together it seems to be about 4 amps if I remember right. Based on labels I though it would have been closer to 7 or 8.

Advertisement

kicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To ground or not to ground Red Squirrel Electrical 2 10-14-2010 09:42 PM
240 volt load/appliance and ground vs neutral kgize Electrical 7 04-23-2010 12:40 AM
sub panel ground and neutral daddyrabbit Electrical 3 01-29-2010 07:49 AM
Electrical Ground Problem cabinetman Electrical 15 01-28-2010 05:55 PM
Ground question. mystery guest Electrical 5 07-24-2008 01:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts