Open Ground 6 Outlets On Same Circuit. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2013, 07:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Open ground 6 outlets on same circuit.


I have found 6 receptacles on the circuit, all of them open ground. I have rechecked the grounds and commons in the main panel, and actually tightened all of them again. Didn't find anything amis at the main box. Two of the recep boxes did not have grounds, so I fixed them, and actually replaced all 6 receptacles. Still have the issue. I checked every switch that we have and nothing appears to be on that circuit. It is all receptacles so far. Is that normal? I even checked all of the motion sensor lights , and nothing included in my circuit.

Any ideas out there? Even though the breaker has not tripped - could it have gone bad?

Advertisement

commnche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 07:51 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Open ground 6 outlets on same circuit.


You may have to check the junction box either in basement or in attic and also check the light switch location as well to make sure you have good ground connection.

What type of cable it have in there now ? NM or BX or other ??

Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:18 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Open ground 6 outlets on same circuit.


They are all 110v receptacles only. I foumd no on-off switches on the circuit.
commnche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:59 PM   #4
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,110
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Open ground 6 outlets on same circuit.


Quote:
Originally Posted by commnche View Post
They are all 110v receptacles only. I foumd no on-off switches on the circuit.
As french stated, odds are there's a ground loose in a junction box somewhere.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 09:04 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Open ground 6 outlets on same circuit.


How did you "fix" two boxes that didn't have grounds?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Stubbie (02-24-2013)
Old 02-24-2013, 10:08 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Open ground 6 outlets on same circuit.


There were no ground wires on the ground screws of the receptacles. I used the wires inside the box to go to the screws and also ran a ground wire to the metal boxes they are in. I basically copied one of my good outlets.
commanche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 10:32 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Open ground 6 outlets on same circuit.


K buz is there any way that a breaker went bad, and didn't trip, causing the open grounds in 6 boxes? Also is there any reason to check other circuits in the house. These were the only ones so far that showed on my Snap It tester, and they are all on the same circuit?
commanche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 10:34 PM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Open ground 6 outlets on same circuit.


No, the breaker has 0 effect on the grounds. This circuit is either tied into an ungrounded circuit or the ground connection has not been properly made in a junction, device, or fixture box.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
commanche (02-24-2013)
Old 02-24-2013, 10:41 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Open ground 6 outlets on same circuit.


Should I really be checking out any of my other receptacles if they are showing good on my tester?
commanche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 11:09 PM   #10
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,217
Rewards Points: 2,404
Default

Open ground 6 outlets on same circuit.


I'm not much of a fan with those receptacle testers, do you know which breaker in your panel protects the circuit these open ground receptacles are on?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 11:13 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Open ground 6 outlets on same circuit.


stubbie - it is giving me good readings everywhere else in the house. Yes I do know which breaker it is on.
commanche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 11:34 PM   #12
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,217
Rewards Points: 2,404
Default

Open ground 6 outlets on same circuit.


I asked because I was'nt sure if you had 3 wire romex. The panel is the best place to tell if you do or dont. I read the other post and it says you have 3 wire romex which I assume means hot , neutral and bare ground. I also assume that the circuit in question shows these three wires in the circuit breaker panel?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 12:07 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Open ground 6 outlets on same circuit.


Stubbie - yes to all.
commanche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:58 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Open ground 6 outlets on same circuit.


Stubbie - I was in the UAW too. Local 1069 for 10 years.

Advertisement

commanche is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tripping breakers,neutrals,120 volts and 240 volts OH My!!! Stubbie Electrical 17 06-11-2011 07:09 AM
open circuit unknown location / voltage leakage fishmanflats Electrical 4 12-23-2009 10:04 PM
1990 Bounder Motorhome 3 prong outlets actally have no ground connected!! Help! Holering Electrical 5 03-30-2009 01:59 PM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 07:30 PM
? on 20A circuit / outlets / #of remhed Electrical 2 05-15-2005 09:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts