Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2012, 05:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 17
Share |
Question

Only one room testing as Not Grounded?


Another question already...

I have a house built in 1966. All of the outlets upstairs have metal boxes with no visible ground wire. A receptacle tester shows all of the outlets as grounded except for the living room.

So I'm wondering, what might the reason be for the living room not testing as grounded? When I touch a "pig-tail" tester to the hot wire and directly to the box, it lights up, so perhaps the ground is too weak for the receptacle tester to detect it? The outlets in the other rooms are the same as the ones in the living room, so I'm confused as to what is making the difference.

I know there are numerous possibilities here, but I'd like to hear your theories on what may be going on.

brad34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 06:39 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,895
Default

Only one room testing as Not Grounded?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brad34 View Post
Another question already...

I have a house built in 1966. All of the outlets upstairs have metal boxes with no visible ground wire. A receptacle tester shows all of the outlets as grounded except for the living room.

So I'm wondering, what might the reason be for the living room not testing as grounded? When I touch a "pig-tail" tester to the hot wire and directly to the box, it lights up, so perhaps the ground is too weak for the receptacle tester to detect it? The outlets in the other rooms are the same as the ones in the living room, so I'm confused as to what is making the difference.

I know there are numerous possibilities here, but I'd like to hear your theories on what may be going on.

First off, what wiring method is installed? Most likely, somewhere along the way, you have a junction box that contains shoddy connections.


Last edited by stickboy1375; 07-15-2012 at 06:42 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 07:29 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 17
Default

Only one room testing as Not Grounded?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
First off, what wiring method is installed? Most likely, somewhere along the way, you have a junction box that contains shoddy connections.
Type TW..it looks like the first floor is through conduit.

Last edited by brad34; 07-15-2012 at 07:44 PM.
brad34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 07:49 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,895
Default

Only one room testing as Not Grounded?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brad34 View Post
Type TW..it looks like the first floor is through conduit.
If its old AC wiring and it doesn't contain a bonding strip within, then all you can do is GFCI protect the circuit install grounded receptacles....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 12:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Only one room testing as Not Grounded?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brad34 View Post
so perhaps the ground is too weak for the receptacle tester to detect it?
Yes, a high resistance ground, maybe due to rust.
More than 1/2 ohm between your neutral and ground terminals measured at the outlet is probably too much.

If you buy a real multimeter it'll pay for itself the first time you use it to correctly diagnose a problem.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 02:50 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

Only one room testing as Not Grounded?


Maybe a conduit connection is corroded or no longer connected in that room.

__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insulating a cold/well room? Lynch Building & Construction 23 07-25-2014 02:49 PM
Bathroom to Laundry Room to Bathroom bcatanz10 Remodeling 2 10-10-2011 09:45 PM
Vapor Barrier on elevated 4 season room Indyc0lt Insulation 3 09-15-2011 01:41 PM
advice/Help on non-permitted bonus room? Orange_County General DIY Discussions 43 06-11-2010 05:06 PM
What Makes A Room A Bedroom? HowToGuy Remodeling 11 02-26-2010 02:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.